Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$root.page}}

Tutor List

If you find that you are having difficulty with your course material please contact your professor or GSI first.

In the fall and winter semesters, free one-on-one assistance is available in the Math Learning Center (Math Lab).  The MLC located in B860 East Hall, and is open Mon-Thurs 11 am-4 pm and 7-10 pm; Fri 11am-4 pm; and Sun 7-10 pm.  You can contact it at 734.936.0160.  In the spring and summer, similar free tutoring is provided by the Science Learning Center (SLC, in 1720 Chemistry; contact the SLC at 734.764.9326 or slc@umich.edu for spring/summer hours).

Below we list mathematics graduate students and others affiliated with the Department in some manner or another who have expressed an interest in serving as private tutors.  Please note that in keeping with the University's policies on conflict of interest, instructors teaching mathematics courses shall not give private tutoring or instruction for pay to students in any sections of the same courses that they are currently teaching or in which they are serving as course coordinator or assistant.

Other sources of tutoring include the following organizations.  Please note that the Department of Mathematics provides these links as a service to our students.  If you contact them, any information you provide them is given to the organization in question and NOT to the Mathematics Department; we are not liable for any violations of your privacy resulting from your use of these links.

  • Tau Beta Pi: The Engineering honors society provides free tutoring for math 100 and 200 level courses commonly taken by engineering students.
  • I've Got Your Back (IGYB): IGYB is a student organization that provides resources to form study groups, workshops in effective studying, and free tutoring.
Name Courses Available to Tutor Email Address Phone Number
Ananyan, Tigran All Undergraduate Math and Math/Engineering courses antigran@umich.edu 734-223-4819 
Athanasouli, Christina Math 105, 115, 116 and 216 chrath@umich.edu  
Ballardo, Joseph Math 105 and Math 115 ballardo@umich.edu 908-472-4239
Callaway, Lemar Math 105 lcallawa@umich.edu  
Cheong, Gil Any math courses, including high school math such as SAT (regular and subject) and AP Calculus. gcheong@umich.edu (734) 249-0040
Chung, Angus Math 105, 115, 116 angusck@umich.edu  
Cochrane, Robert Math 105, 115, 116, 215, Linear Algebra robcoch@umich.edu  
Coronel, Esteban Math 105 and 115 ecoronel@umich.edu  
Damelin, Dr. Steve, Ph.D. All 100-200 level calculus, linear algebra and differential equations sequences, Calculus AB/BC, AP and all other high school-middle school math

damelin@umich.edu

http://www.umich.edu/~damelin  Please see link to my Math college tutoring site.

912-481-7114
Della Pella, Anthony All undergrade Math courses, as well as Math 525 and Math 555. adellapella@umich.edu  
Elzinga, Robert Math 105, 115, 116, 215; middle/high school robert_elzinga@hotmail.com 734-262-1927
Gandini, Francesca Math 105, 115, 116, Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra fragandi@umich.edu  
Gerhard, Jonathan All Math courses jgerhard@umich.edu 571-296-1398
Gill, Montek All Math courses montekg@umich.edu  
Golkarieh, Alireza Math 105, 115, 116, 214, 419, 425 aligol@umich.edu  
Guzman, Jonathan Math 105, 115, 116, 214, 215, 217, 417, 419, 525, 550, 555, 558 jonrguz@umich.edu  
Holler, John All undergraduate math courses johnholl@umich.edu  
Horawa, Alex Math 105, 115, 214, 215, 216, 217, Abstract Algebra ahorawa@umich.edu  
Irvine, Daniel Math 105, 115, or 116 dirvine@umich.edu  
Islam, Mitul Courses : 105, 115, 116, 214, 216, Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra, Analysis mitulmi@umich.edu  
Kohl, Ryan Math 115, 116, 185, 186, 215, 216, 217, and 297 kohlr@umich.edu  
Kraisler, Joe Math 105, 115, 116, 214, 215, 216, 217 jkrais@umich.edu  
Lewis, Monica All undergraduate math courses, especially introductory sequence courses (105/115/116), Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra malewi@umich.edu  
Li, David Math 105,115,116, 215 and 216 davidlxl@umich.edu 858-717-6206
Lutz, Bob 105, 115, 116, 214, 215, 216, 217 boblutz@umich.edu  
Mallory, Devlin Math 105, 115, 116, any undergrad course except for differential equations malloryd@umich.edu  
Mavroyiakoumou, Christiana  Math 105, 115, 215 and 216 chrismav@umich.edu  
McMillan, Andrew Math 105 through 217 andrewnm@umich.edu (407) 590-6293
Mukhopadhyay, Alapan 105, 115, 116, 215 and most Undergrad Math courses. alapanm@umich.edu  
Takumi Murayama Math 105, 115, 116, 215, upper-level pure math takumim@umich.edu  
Odesky, Andrew Math 115, 116, 185, 186, 214, 215, 216, 217, 312, 316, 412, 417. aodesky@umich.edu  
Olson, Matt All undergrad math courses mlolson@umich.edu  
Pinella, Samantha Math 105, 115, 116 spinella@umich.edu  
Powell, Jasmine All undergrad math courses jtpowell@umich.edu  
Pulizzotto, Ian Most undergraduate math, plus graduate level probability ifpulizz@yahoo.com  
Sampath, Kannappan Math 105, 115, 116, and upper-level pure math courses knsam@umich.edu  
Soldevilla Estrada, Julio Cesar Math 105, 115, 215 jsolde@umich.edu (734)276-9599
Sun, Yitong Most basic undergraduate math courses, all middle/high school courses syitong@umich.edu (734) 604-8748
Tosteson, Philip Math 105, Math 115, and Math 116, as well as high school or upper-level Algebra and Analysis. ptoste@umich.edu  
Vargo, Alexander All undergraduate Math courses except 216 ahsvargo@umich.edu  
Vaughn, Nathan Most undergraduate courses, especially applied/engineering math.   njvaughn@umich.edu  
Weiss, Michael All undergraduate math courses (especially 105-215), courses for teachers, middle and high school courses. Also available for Physics tutoring. mweiss@umich.edu  
Wilson, Leighton Math 105, 110, 115, 116, 185, 186, 214, 215, 216, 285, 286, 310, 316, 371, 217, 417, 454, 471, middle/high school course, math test prep(SAT, ACT, AP, GRE, etc.) lwwilson@umich.edu (205)514-9056
Wu, Hao Linear Algebra, Probability, Analysis (e.g. Math 217, 425, 451 and 525) lingluan@umich.edu  
Yhee, Farrah Math 105, 115, and 116 fyhee@umich.edu  
Yilmaz, Berkan Math 105, 116, 216; linear algebra (with or without proofs), advaced calculus 1, complex analysis byilmaz@umich.edu  
Zhang, Ming All undergrad math courses zhangmsq@umich.edu