Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$root.page}}

Tutor List

If you find that you are having difficulty with your course material please contact your professor or GSI first.

In the fall and winter semesters, free one-on-one assistance is available in the Math Learning Center (Math Lab).  The MLC located in B860 East Hall, and is open Mon-Thurs 11 am-4 pm and 7-10 pm; Fri 11am-4 pm; and Sun 7-10 pm.  You can contact it at 734.936.0160.  In the spring and summer, similar free tutoring is provided by the Science Learning Center (SLC, in 1720 Chemistry; contact the SLC at 734.764.9326 or slc@umich.edu for spring/summer hours).

Below we list mathematics graduate students and others affiliated with the Department in some manner or another who have expressed an interest in serving as private tutors.  Please note that in keeping with the University's policies on conflict of interest, instructors teaching mathematics courses shall not give private tutoring or instruction for pay to students in any sections of the same courses that they are currently teaching or in which they are serving as course coordinator or assistant.

Other sources of tutoring include the following organizations.  Please note that the Department of Mathematics provides these links as a service to our students.  If you contact them, any information you provide them is given to the organization in question and NOT to the Mathematics Department; we are not liable for any violations of your privacy resulting from your use of these links.

  • Tau Beta Pi: The Engineering honors society provides free tutoring for math 100 and 200 level courses commonly taken by engineering students.
  • I've Got Your Back (IGYB): IGYB is a student organization that provides resources to form study groups, workshops in effective studying, and free tutoring.
Name Courses Available to Tutor Remote_Services  Email Address Phone Number
Ananyan, Tigran All Undergraduate Math and Math/Engineering courses   antigran@umich.edu 734-223-4819 
Athanasouli, Christina Math 105, 115, 116 and 216   chrath@umich.edu  
Callaway, Lemar Math 105   lcallawa@umich.edu  
Cheong, Gil Any math courses, including high school math such as SAT (regular and subject) and AP Calculus.   gcheong@umich.edu (734) 249-0040
Chung, Angus Math 105, 115, 116   angusck@umich.edu  
Cochrane, Robert Math 105, 115, 116, 215, Linear Algebra   robcoch@umich.edu  
Della Pella, Anthony All undergrade Math courses, as well as Math 525 and Math 555.   adellape@umich.edu  
Elzinga, Robert Math 105, 115, 116, 215; middle/high school   robert.elzinga.math.tutor@gmail.com 734-262-1927
Gerhard, Jonathan All Math courses   jgerhard@umich.edu 571-296-1398
Gill, Montek All Math courses   montekg@umich.edu  
Golkarieh, Alireza Math 105, 115, 116, 214, 419, 425   aligol@umich.edu  
Guzman, Jonathan Math 105, 115, 116, 214, 215, 217, 417, 419, 525, 550, 555, 558   jonrguz@umich.edu  
Holler, John All undergraduate math courses   johnholl@umich.edu  
Horawa, Alex Math 105, 115, 116, 214, 215, 216, 217, Abstract Algebra   ahorawa@umich.edu  
Irvine, Daniel Math 105, 115, or 116   dirvine@umich.edu  
Islam, Mitul Courses : 105, 115, 116, 214, 216, Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra, Analysis   mitulmi@umich.edu  
Jun, Hyung Kyu Math 105, 115, and linear algebra   hkjun@umich.edu  
Kohl, Ryan Math 115, 116, 185, 186, 215, 216, 217, and 297   kohlr@umich.edu  
Kraisler, Joe Math 105, 115, 116, 214, 215, 216, 217   jkrais@umich.edu  
Lewis, Monica All undergraduate math courses; especially 105/115/116, linear algebra, abstract algebra   malewi@umich.edu  
Li, David Math 105,115,116, 214, 215, 216 and 217   davidlxl@umich.edu 858-717-6206
Mavroyiakoumou, Christiana  Math 105, 115, 116, 215 and 216   chrismav@umich.edu  
McMillan, Andrew Math 105 through 217   andrewnm@umich.edu (407) 590-6293
Mukhopadhyay, Alapan 105, 115, 116, 215 and most Undergrad Math courses.   alapanm@umich.edu  
Nellis, April All 100- and 200-level MATH courses, general standardized exam math (SAT/ACT/GRE), Discrete math/Statistics and probability   nellisa@umich.edu  
Nguyen, Khoa Any undergraduate Math course that does not use computer programs   kdng@umich.edu 734-548-7150
Odesky, Andrew Math 115, 116, 185, 186, 214, 215, 216, 217, 312, 316, 412, 417.   aodesky@umich.edu  
Olson, Matt All undergrad math courses   mlolson@umich.edu  
Peterson, Carsten All Math courses   carstenp@umich.edu  
Pinella, Samantha Math 105, 115, 116   spinella@umich.edu  
Ian Pulizzotto 

Tutor most undergraduate math, and graduate level probability.

At this time, any tutoring would have to be online, due to the current global crisis.

  ifpulizz@yahoo.com  
Randall, Ben

Please visit:

https://ebenjaminrandall.wixsite.com/home/tutoring

for an extensive list of tutoring courses from high school to graduate level.

  ebrandal@med.umich.edu  
Sampath, Kannappan Math 105, 115, and upper-level pure math courses   knsam@umich.edu  
Shivaprasad, Sanal All undergraduate math courses   sanal@umich.edu  
Sprunger, Carsten Math 105, 115, 116, 185, 186, 214, 215, 216, 217, 285, 295, 296, 395, 396, 412, 420, 425, 451, 490, 591, 593, 614, Elementary/Middle/High School Math   csprun@umich.edu  
Vargo, Alexander All undergraduate Math courses.   ahsvargo@umich.edu  
Weiss, Michael All undergraduate math courses (especially 105-215), courses for teachers, middle and high school courses. Also available for Physics tutoring. Online Tutoring is available mweiss@umich.edu  
Wilson, Leighton Math 105, 110, 115, 116, 185, 186, 214, 215, 216, 285, 286, 310, 316, 371, 217, 417, 454, 471, middle/high school course, math test prep(SAT, ACT, AP, GRE, etc.)   lwwilson@umich.edu (205)514-9056
Yhee, Farrah Math 105, 115, and 116   fyhee@umich.edu  
Yilmaz, Berkan Math 105, 116, 216; linear algebra (with or without proofs), advaced calculus 1, complex analysis   byilmaz@umich.edu  
Zell, Ethan All Math Courses   ezell@umich.edu 703-967-7383