Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Rainich Lectures

Professor Rainich is a noted scholar, and is recognized as the foremost authority in this country on the Theory of Relativity and allied subjects. Professor Rainich is a Russian by birth and an interesting story is told of an experience he had while lecturing at Columbia University. Speaking on Relativity before the faculty he quoted a number of the foremost authorities known upon the subject. One of the members of the Columbia faculty spoke up saying, "That is all very well but why don't you quote what Rabinovich has said upon this subject? "Professor Rainich was somewhat embarrassed as he replied, "Well, you see, I am Rabinovich."

The Rainich Lectures were established in 1981 by an endowment from Professor Raymond L. Wilder and his wife, Una, honoring Professor George “Yuri” Rainich, who served on our faculty for 30 years until retiring in 1956. 

Read more about George Yuri Rainich here

Distinguished mathematicians who have given these lectures are listed below.  

Date Speaker/Organization Lecture Title
October 26-28, 2021 Akshay Venkatesh, Institutue for Advanced Study

3987^{12} + 4365^{12} = 4472^{12} (almost)

Symplectic L-Functions and Their Topological Analogues

Relative Langlands Duality



March 20-22, 2018 Richard Taylor, Institute of Advanced Study

Arithmetic and locally symmetric spaces

Galois theory and locally symmetric spaces

Modularity lifting theorems in the setting of locally symmetric spaces

2010 Terence Tao     Lecture (pdf)  
2008 Gang Tian  
2006 Philip Holmes  
2003 Nancy Kopell  
2002 Robert McPherson  
2001 Martin Nowak  
1998 Graeme Segal  
1996 Jean-Pierre Serre  
1994 Kenneth Ribet  
1990 Persi Diaconis  
1988 Richard M. Schoen  
1986 Avner Freedman  
1982 Lipman Bers