Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Student Awards

The following awards are presented to students at the annual Dorr Dinner which takes place in Winter term of each academic year.

Graduate Student Awards

Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award

To be given to a Graduate Student Instructor who has taught two or more classes before January 31 of the year of the award. The recipient is nominated for the Rackham Graduate School Outstanding GSI Award.


Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award
2020 Sarah Brehm
2019 Mark Robbins, Margaret (Meg) Veitch
2018 Alyssa Abbey, Sean Hurt, Kyle Meyer
2017 Erin Lynch, Will Bender, Joseph El Adli
2016 Samantha Nemkin, Ian Winkelstern
2015 Petr Yakovlev
2014 Carli Arendt
2013 Ethan Hyland, Sae Yun Kwon
2012 Laura Waters
2011 Alex Lechler
2010 Alison Duvall
2009 Daniel Horton
2008 Lin Ma
2007 David Whipp
2006 Jason Barnes, Andrea Stancin
2005 Kate Keller, Carmen Nezat
2004 Holli Frey, Zeb Page


John Dorr Graduate Academic Achievement Award

Department-wide award to a graduate student who defended or will defend his/her PhD dissertation between January 31 of the year before and January 31 of the year of the award ceremony.


John Dorr Graduate Academic Achievement Award
2020 YoungJae Kim, Kelly Matsunaga
2019 Brian Konecke, Ross Maguire, Spencer Washburn
2018 Trever Hines, Peng Ni
2017 Timothy Gallagher, Richard Fiorella
2016 Sae Yun Kwon
2015 Karthik Anantharaman, Ethan Hyland
2014 Jennifer Cotton
2013 Laura Sherman
2012 Alison Duvall
2011 Devon Renock
2010 Elizabeth Feriss, Adam Rountrey
2009 Jason Barnes, Lin Ma
2008 Eric Kneller
2007 Martin Reich
2006 Carmen Nezat
2005 Jason Smerdon
2004 Chris Palenik
2003 Andrea Dutton, Eric Tohver
2002 Andrew Jacobson, Boris Kieffer
2001 Jonathon Bloch, Margaret Streepy
2000 Weiming Zhou
1999 David Fox, Liping Wang
1998 Ruth Blake
1997 Anna Martini
1996 William Clyde, Gerald Dickens
1995 William Patterson
1994 Joseph Graney
1993 Carl Drummond
1992 Matthias Ohr
1991 Arthur Leibold
1990 Richard Kettler
1989 Michael Cosca
1988 Paul Koch
1987 William Bartells


Golden Nebula Award

Given to the best Turner Award proposal from a first-year graduate student.

Golden Nebula Award
2020 Alice Zhou
2019 Natalie Packard


Gold Star Award

Given to the top-ranked Turner Award proposals for the year's grant cycle.

Gold Star Award
2020 Phoebe Aron, Madelyn Cook, Dhurba Raj Pandey
2019 Phoebe Aron, Rebecca Dzombak, Sharon Grim, Kirk Townsend