While campus is back in full swing with the beginning of the 2023 fall semester, let’s take a moment to celebrate some U-M Sociology faculty members who received major accolades over the summer!

Professor Geneviève Zubrzycki was awarded the William H. Sewell, Jr. Collegiate Professorship, effective September 1, 2023. This is among the highest honors the college and the university can bestow upon an eminent faculty member. 

This summer, Alford A. Young, Jr. was named a University Diversity & Social Transformation Professor. These professorships are given for exceptional contributions to diversity, equity, and inclusion through research, teaching, and service. 

The College of LSA has named Matthew Sullivan as the recipient of the 2023 Individual Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education. This award is a well-deserved recognition for his work with Sociology undergraduates and his deep investment in their learning. Sullivan serves as the Director of the Sociology Department's SOUL Program for first-generation college students majoring in Sociology. 

Congratulations to Geneviève, Al, and Matt for their hard work and well-deserved recognition!