Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Honors Graduation Awards

The LSA Honors Program selects graduating Honors students, nominated by their department of Honors major, to receive awards for producing outstanding senior theses or projects or for overall excellence in their discipline. These honorary awards, established by alumni and friends of Honors, are named for notable individuals, many who have made important contributions to their fields of study.


Congratulations to our 2023 Graduation Awards Recipients


Elizabeth Hume O'Donnell Honors Graduation Prize

     Sara Huang, Neuroscience

     Yusra Sannah, Neuroscience

Dr. John J. Kennedy Prize

     Eli Neumann, English

Patricia Kennedy Prize

     Paz Regueiro, English

Terrence J. McDonald Prize for Archival Research

     Naomi Rosen, History


Goldstein Prizes

     Sidney Fine Teaching Award

          Pin-en Lillian Chiu, Honors in Engaged Liberal Arts

     Gerald Ford Public Service Award

          Evan Hall, Honors in Engaged Liberal Arts

     Robert Hayden Humanities Award

           Eli Friedman, History

     Jerome and Isabella Karle Physical Sciences Award

           Anna Simpson, Astronomy & Astrophysics, Physics

     Arthur Miller Creative Arts Award

           Rose Albayat, Film, Television, and Media

     Marshall Nirenberg Life Sciences Award

           Steven Dunne, Biochemistry

     Marshall Sahlins Social Science Award

           Kseniya Dzhala, Sociology

           Eli Harris-Trent, Political Science               

     Stephen Smale Mathematics Award

           Faye Jackson, Mathematics

     Raoul Wallenberg Humanitarian Award

           Phimmasone Owens, Honors in Engaged Liberal Arts   


Virginia L. Voss Memorial Awards

     Academic Writing

          Skylar Brodnan, Evolutionary Anthropology

     Creative Prose

          Grace Fabbri, Creative Writing

          Jessica Kwon, Creative Writing


          Olivia Evans, Creative Writing


 Stephen Darwall Honors Resident Assistant Prize

      Margaret Rudnick, Film, Television, and Media

Donna Wessel Walker Award

      Samantha Dell'Imperio, Biology, Health, & Society

Ferrando Economics Prize (selected by Department of Economics)

      Joanne Lee, Economics

      James McGranahan, Economics

      Jin Niu, Economics

Roger B. Vanko Memorial Scholarship (selected by Department of Chemistry)

      Julian Meza, Biochemistry

      Maxwell Wadley, Biochemistry

H.D. Cameron Prize for Excellence in Honors Teaching

      Emma Abed

      Ben Cross


Nomination Information

Each award requires a department nomination. Student self-nominations will not be considered.

December 2023 graduates are eligible to be nominated in 2024.

Departments:  Submit nomination materials via the Honors Graduation Awards Nomination form when open in February or March 2024.

When submitting theses for award consideration, please name the file only 'uniqname.pdf.' For example:  mmanty.pdf

Be sure to review the award drop-down boxes for:

-Eligibility requirements specific to each award

-Nomination requirements specific to each award


Questions? Email


LSA Honors Chat