Skip to Content

Honors Scholarships & Grants

The LSA Honors Program awards several scholarships and prizes, thanks to the generosity of alumni and friends of Honors. Use the links, below, to view the variety of opportunities, as well as the application requirements.

Use the "Make an Appointment" button on the main page to meet with an advisor about Honors scholarship opportunities. Students may email with questions.

(Note: As an academic unit, Honors does not offer merit-based aid or financial assistance. Please visit LSA ScholarshipsU-M Office of Admissions Cost & Aid, or the U-M Office of Financial Aid.)

The following is a list of awards and grants bestowed during the commencement season each spring, including the current award recipient(s). Honors thanks its generous donors for making these academic prizes possible.

Goldstein Prizes

Generously supported by the Goldstein family (Ellen, Joseph, Paul and Laura Goldstein) and named for distinguished UM alumni/ae and associates, the Goldstein Prizes reward Honors seniors for excellence in humanities, arts, natural sciences and mathematics, social sciences, public policy and service, humanitarianism, and teaching.

The Robert Hayden Humanities Award

Robert Hayden, a preeminently important poet in American and African-American literature, was a graduate student at UM where he studied under W. H. Auden. He taught at Michigan after his graduation, spent twenty-three years on the faculty of Fisk University, returning to UM where he completed his teaching career.

The 2017 Robert Hayden Humanities Award – Eliza Cadoux

The Arthur Miller Arts Award

Arthur Miller graduated from U-M in 1938 and went on to become one of the most celebrated playwrights of the twentieth century. Winner of a Pulitzer Prize, the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, and a Kennedy Center honoree, Miller returned to Michigan in 2004 in conjunction with a series of productions of both his well-known and his rarely performed works called “An Arthur Miller Celebration.”

The 2017 Arthur Miller Arts Award – Claire Higgens

The Jerome and Isabella Karle Award in Physical Sciences

Jerome Karle received his Master's in Biology from Harvard in 1938 and his Ph.D. in Chemistry from U-M in 1944. He worked on the Manhattan Project and was co-winner of the 1985 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. 

Both he and Isabella Karle got degrees in Physical Chemistry with U-M professor Lawrence Brockway. She also earned her undergraduate degree in chemistry at U-M at the age of 19. They went on to distinguished careers at the Naval Research Lab. 

The 2017 Jerome and Isabella Karle Award in Physical Sciences – Wenli Zhao

The Marshall Nirenberg Award in Life Sciences

Marshall Nirenberg earned his Ph.D. in Biological Chemistry at U-M in 1957 and spent most of his career at the National Institutes of Health, where he became the section head for Biochemical Genetics in 1962. He shared the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1968 with two other scientists for work on the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis.

The 2017 Marshall Nirenberg Award in Life Sciences – Jonathan Williams

The Stephen Smale Award in Mathematical Sciences

Stephen Smale received his Ph.D. in mathematics from UM in 1957, having begun his studies here as a first-year student in 1948. He spent most of his career at UC-Berkeley and in Hong Kong, where he is a Distinguished University Professor. His most substantial work is on the Poincaré conjecture and Morse theory; that and other ground-breaking work has been recognized by many awards and honors, including the Field Medal, the Veblen Prize, the National Science Medal, and the Wolf Prize.

The 2017 Stephen Smale Award in Mathematical Sciences – Carsten Sprunger

The Marshall Sahlins Social Science Award

Marshall Sahlins earned his A.B. at Michigan. He has been Professor of Anthropology at the University of Chicago since 1973. His numerous books and articles have covered topics from the civilizations of the Pacific to the effects of cultural resistance in indigenous populations.

The 2017 Marshall Sahlins Social Science Award – Lauren Shepard

The Gerald Ford Public Policy and Service Award

The thirty-eighth President of the United States, Gerald Ford was a UM alumnus who, as a student, was starting center on the football team. In recognition of his lifetime of service to the state of Michigan and to the nation, the UM School of Public Policy was named for him. The Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library is on the North Campus of the University of Michigan.

The 2017 Gerald Ford Public Policy and Service Award – Kyle Finnegan

The Raoul Wallenberg Humanitarian Award

Raoul Wallenberg, Swedish businessman and diplomat, is credited with saving 100,000 Hungarian Jews from Nazi extermination in 1944. He studied architecture at Michigan in the late 1930s.

The 2017 Raoul Wallenberg Humanitarian Award – Helena Ratte

The Sidney Fine Teaching Award

Sidney Fine, Andrew Dickinson White Distinguished Professor of History, was among the most admired and respected faculty ever to teach at Michigan. Not only did he have a distinguished record of research and publication, but he was held in the highest regard by the students whom he taught throughout his career.

The 2017 Sidney Fine Teaching Award – Ryan Mak

Patricia Kennedy Memorial Award

Established by her son and daughter-in-law, Mr. and Mrs. John P. Kennedy, to honor her memory, this award is given with preference for students working in English literature or women’s issues. Any student whose work touches on these fields may be nominated for this award, no matter the department of major.

2017 Patricia Kennedy Memorial Award – Michael Gawlik

Dr. John J. Kennedy Award

Named in honor of John P. Kennedy’s father, this award is given to acknowledge and support excellence in poetry, creative writing, and scholarship about literature.

2017 Dr. John J. Kennedy Award – Miclan Quorpencetta

Terrence J. McDonald Prize for Archival Research

Named in honor of former Dean of the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, this award was endowed by Honors alumnus John A. Rapaport and is given for the finest thesis which made substantial use of archives or museums; it may be awarded in any field of study.

2017 Terrence J. McDonald Prize for Archival Research – Dylan Nelson

Ferrando Prize

Named for Jonathan and Kathryn Ferrando, this prize is awarded each year to the outstanding graduates in Economics. Mr. Ferrando is a UM Honors Economics graduate.

2017 Ferrando Prize Recipients – Adrian Apaza, Xiuyi He, Ethan McCall, Pengyu Ren

Roger B. Vanko Memorial Scholarship

Named for the late Roger B. Vanko, this award is presented each year to an outstanding Honors student majoring in chemistry who intends to pursue graduate work in that field.

2017 Roger B. Vanko Memorial Scholarships – Rishi Goel, Nils Strand

Honors Alumni Prize

The Honors Alumni Award for Outstanding Achievement is funded by generous donations from Honors alumni and awarded to an excellent Honors student who, in addition to significant academic success, has given sterling service to the program, the college, and the university.

2017 Honors Alumni Prize - David Schafer

Virginia Voss Memorial Scholarships

Named for the late Virginia Voss, who graduated from the University of Michigan in the 1950s and served as College Editor of Mademoiselle Magazine, the Voss Scholarships are awarded each year to senior Honors women for excellence in writing. Voss Scholarships are given in several categories including academic writing, imaginative prose, and poetry.

2017 Academic Writing Recipients – Xinyi Chen, Morgan Cullen, Marnie Ginis, Michelle Hoban, Alexandra Kuske, Michelle Rabaut, Keemia Soheil