Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

2021 Awardees


Alpha Chi Sigma (ΑΧΣ) Outstanding Student Award
This award is presented to a student who has demonstrated an interest in chemistry, shown outstanding academic potential as judged by instructors,and has demonstrated leadership with fellow students.
Evan Hall

Alumni First Year Achievement Awards
The Department of Chemistry students in the first-year chemistry program who have demonstrated exceptional performance in their laboratory and lecture work. The award is based on the recommendations of instructors, graduate student instructors and undergraduate advisors.
Brian Constantinescu
Danyal Raza
Kevin Cheng
Yoshiki (Yoshi) Kawase
Tiffany Adam
Serra Tuzun
Harry Yang
Alex Zhang

Alumni Outstanding Awards
The undergraduate awards committee established three awards in 1991. These awards recognize academic excellence and leadership potential of second year, third year, and senior Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biomolecular Science, Chemical Science and Interdisciplinary Chemical Sciences majors.
Nicholas Wiesner
Julia Jieyu Fu
Jillian Genova

American Chemical Society Chemistry Awards
These awards are presented on behalf of the American Chemical Society to recognize outstanding undergraduates who are conducting research in the fields of analytical, inorganic, organic, and physical chemistry.
Analytical - Jonah Eisenberg
Organic - Morgan Young
Inorganic - Shuri Francis
Physical - Kyrillos Sameh Abdallah

American Institute of Chemists Awards
The American Institute of Chemists Awards are given by their commendation of the awards committee based on a student’s excellent record of ability, character, and academic achievement.
Jonathan Tong
Puneet Singh Dhatt

CRC Outstanding Achievement Award
Each year, around the country, Departments of Chemistry are asked to recognize a student taking introductory chemistry who has demonstrated exceptional performance in laboratory and lecture work. The CRC Award has a long-standing recognition as the top honor for an early-career student.
Garret Hanks

Seyhan N. Ege—WISE Award
Seyhan N. Ege was one of the founders of the University of Michigan’s Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Program. Each year, the Program recognizes outstanding achievement by an undergraduate student from a group that is traditionally underrepresented in the chemical sciences.
Calibri (Body)

First Year Leadership Award
Nathaniel Hodgson
Jessica Reinach
Anna Chiara Russo

Honors College Vanko Award
Named for Roger B. Vanko, an Honors College student who was tragically killed in his junior year. In Roger’s honor and memory, his parents, teachers, and friends established this memorial award to encourage outstanding young women and men in the field of Chemistry/Biochemistry.
Lila M Alaka
Bennett Hendricks


Huron Valley Section Outstanding Student Leadership Award
Each year, the Huron Valley Section is pleased to recognize outstanding achievement in professional citizenship demonstrated by an undergraduate student.
Nicholas Cemalovic
Isabella Panse


Department of Chemistry Isabella Karle Memorial Award
This award is presented to a top graduating senior, and is named in honor of Dr. Isabella Karle, who earned her BS, MS, and Ph.D. degrees in Chemistry at the University of Michigan. Her contributions to science include her work on the Manhattan Project, where she developed techniques used for the extraction of plutonium chloride. She was also a pioneer in the field of X-raycrystallography, and received numerous honors including being elected to the National Academy of Sciences, and receiving the National Medal of Science.
Andrew Kohrman

Merck Index Award to Outstanding Seniors
The Merck Pharmaceutical Company provides the University of Michigan Chemistry Department with awards each year in the form of The Merck Index, to be given to outstanding graduating Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biomolecular Science, Chemical Science and Interdisciplinary Chemical Sciences majors.

Summer Undergraduate Research Program Awards
James E. Harris Scholarship - Manasi Bartels

Albert Hinsdale Memorial Endowment - Katiya Anantpur Hannah Tarnopol Abigail Palomino

William Smeaton Memorial Award - Abby Malek

Margaret & Herman Sokol Award - Shayna Kornievskaia Taewon Bojanowski Mackenzie Chung Maximilian Wang Katerina Thomas

May-Walt Summer Research Scholarship - Annie Barkho Natalie Miller Hannah Hrigora Kagiso Yu Solomon Song Drew Brotzman Anaise Bracken Tianle Palka Lucy Clemons

Walter Yates Award - Anthony Sebetela 


Walter Yates Award
The Walter Yates Award is presented to a senior undergraduate chemistry or biochemistry major to recognize excellence and scholarly achievement.
Michaela Marie Barber