Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$root.page}}

Current Graduate Student Assistance

We have several sources of support to assist you during your time as a student.


Student Services Department: Assist with general questions and concerns and a central area to connect you with resources.

MS Students:  Brendan Locke, bwlocke@umich.edu

PhD Students:  Katie Foster, katfost@umich.edu

Funding/ benefit questions: Brendan Locke, bwlocke@umich.edu

Student Services Manager:  Heather Hanosh, hjholcom@umich.edu

Department Ombuds: A representative of the people independent from the government and a confidential adviser who can help navigate issues that you may feel uncomfortable discussing with others.
Dr. Julie Biteen, jsbiteen@umich.edu  

Graduate Committee: Serve as your first year advisors and assist with questions, concerns and conflict resolution throughout your graduate career.
Dr. Adam Matzger, Chair, matzger@umich.edu
Dr. Nathaniel Szymczak, Inorganic, nszym@umich.edu
Dr. Eitan Geva, Physical, eitan@umich.edu
Dr. Alison Narayan, Chem Bio, arhardin@umich.edu
Dr. Pavel Nagorny, Organic, nagorny@umich.edu
Dr. Mark Meyerhoff, Analytical, mmeyerho@umich.edu
Dr. Ginger Shultz, ChemEd, gshultz@umich.edu
Dr. Adam Matzger, Materials,  matzger@umich.edu

Other Support Contacts:
Rackham Resolution Office
Rackham CAPS Office
Rackham Help and Support Contacts