Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

2019 Awardees


Alpha Chi Sigma (ΑΧΣ) Outstanding Student Award
This award is presented to a student who has demonstrated an interest inchemistry, shown outstanding academic potential as judged by instructors, and has demonstrated leadership with fellow students.
Max Hammer

Alumni First Year Achievement Awards
The Department of Chemistry students in the first-year chemistry programwho have demonstrated exceptional performance in their laboratory and lecture work. The award is based on the recommendations of instructors, graduate student instructors and undergraduate advisors.
Nithya Arun,  Paul Brandfonbrener, Sreya Gutta,  Alexandre Levashkevich, Hani Nasr, Caroline Shah, Veronica Sikora

Alumni Outstanding Awards
The undergraduate awards committee established three awards in 1991. These awards recognize academic excellence and leadership potential of second year, third year, and senior Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biomolecular Science, Chemical Science and Interdisciplinary Chemical Sciences majors.

2nd Year Student:  Mark Whitton
3rd Year Student:  Jenna Manske
Senior Year Student:  Vivek Nair

American Chemical Society Chemistry Awards
These awards are presented on behalf of the American Chemical Society to recognize outstanding undergraduates who are conducting research in the fields of analytical, inorganic, organic, and physical chemistry.
Analytical- Jin Yi Tan
Inorganic- Michael Riehs
Organic- Sara Alektiar
Physical- Ammar Ibrahim

American Institute of Chemists Awards
The American Institute of Chemists Awards are given by the recommendation of the awards committee based on a student’s excellent record of ability, character, and academic achievement.
Biochemistry – Jack Twarozynski
Chemistry – Carrie Yu

CRC Outstanding Achievement Award
Each year, around the country, Departments of Chemistry are asked torecognize a student taking introductory chemistry who has demonstrated exceptional performance in laboratory and lecture work. The CRC Awardhas a long-standing recognition as the top honor for an early-career student.
Michael Nunu

Seyhan N. Ege—WISE Award
Seyhan N. Ege was one of the founders of the University of Michigan’s Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Program. Each year, the Program recognizes outstanding achievement by an undergraduate student from a group that is traditionally underrepresented in the chemical sciences.
Jenna Menard

Honors College Vanko Award
Named for Roger B. Vanko, an Honors College student who was tragically killed in his junior year. In Roger’s honor and memory, his parents, teachers, and friends established this memorial award to encourage outstanding young women and men in the field of Chemistry/Biochemistry.
Suzie Kim
Ethan Curtis

Huron Valley Section Outstanding Student Leadership Award
Each year, the Huron Valley Section is pleased to recognize outstanding achievement in professional citizenship demonstrated by an undergraduate student.
Adam Eckburg

Department of Chemistry Isabella Karle Memorial Award
This award is presented to a top graduating senior, and is named in honor of Dr. Isabella Karle, who earned her BS, MS, and Ph.D. degrees in Chemistry at the University of Michigan. Her contributions to science include her work on the Manhattan Project, where she developed techniques used for the extraction of plutonium chloride. She was also a pioneer in the field of X-raycrystallography, and received numerous honors including being elected to the National Academy of Sciences, and receiving the National Medal of Science.
Carolyn Suh

Merck Index Award to Outstanding Seniors
The Merck Pharmaceutical Company provides the University of Michigan Chemistry Department with awards each year in the form of The Merck Index, to be given to outstanding graduating Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biomolecular Science, Chemical Science and Interdisciplinary Chemical Sciences majors.
Hannah Wang

Summer Undergraduate Research Program Awards
James E. Harris Scholarship
Kirk Baughman, Jillian Genova,  Myles Lovasz, Oscar Mota, Kevin Nguyen

Albert Hinsdale Memorial Endowment
Mason Faculak, Andre Kalenak, Anna Trzcinski

William Smeaton Memorial Award
Alexander Postmaa

Margaret & Herman Sokol Award
Stephanie Camarena,  Lesley Escobar, Chuang Feng,  Keerthi Sajja

May-Walt Summer Research Scholarship
Michaela Barber, Alexander Cooke, Bennett Hendricks, Michael Petterson, Anshul Puli, Drew Tarnopol, Austin Wang, Matthew Whalen, Gillian Wright

Walter Yates Award
Amos Nissley, Michael Riehs, Nicholas Watson

Walter Yates Award
The Walter Yates Award is presented to a senior undergraduate chemistry or biochemistry major to recognize excellence and scholarly achievement.
Allison Batka