Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}


The Program in Biology is made up of two departments: the Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Department (EEB) and the Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology (MCDB) Department. There are eight majors and two minors offered through the Program in Biology (some with other departments' participation). The majors are:  Biology; Biology, Health, & Society (BHS); Cellular & Molecular Biomedical Science (CMBS); Ecology, Evolution & Biodiversity (EEB); Microbiology; Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology (MCDB); Neuroscience; and Plant Biology.

The study of biology opens the door to diverse career opportunities. Many life science majors go on to attend professional schools in the health sciences (medical, nursing, and dental school) or graduate study that leads to careers in academia, industry, or government. Others pursue careers in conservation biology, law, journalism, teaching, and public health, among other options.

The Program in Biology office in 2200 BSB houses biology-specific student services for our undergraduates and includes a drop-in space for students to study or check in with Peer Advisors.  Many general questions can be answered by on-duty staff, but more complicated or in-depth discussions should be scheduled online.

Course Information