The search for the next dean of the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts at the University of Michigan is underway.

The new dean will begin the role on July 1, 2024, and will succeed Anne Curzan after her five-year term concludes on June 30. 

The dean search advisory committee was announced in November and is charged with conducting a broad search and presenting an unranked slate of recommended candidates to the U-M provost. Global executive search firm Isaacson, Miller will assist in the recruitment process. The group will be chaired by Rebecca Lange, the Alexander N. Halliday Collegiate Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences, and professor of earth and environmental sciences at LSA. 

The committee comprises faculty, staff, students, and alumni:

  • William Calvo-Quirós, associate professor of American culture in LSA, and associate professor of art and design in the Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design;
  • Liliana Cortés-Ortiz, research associate professor in ecology and evolutionary biology, intermittent lecturer in ecology and evolutionary biology, director of the Frontiers Master’s Program, and lecturer I in anthropology in LSA;
  • Jeff Craft, chief administrator for the departments of History of Art and Classical Studies in LSA;
  • Thomas Finholt, vice provost for academic and budgetary affairs in the Office of the Provost, and professor of information in the School of Information;
  • Murad Idris, associate professor of political science and associate director of the Global Islamic Studies Center in LSA;
  • Pristina Koon, undergraduate student, humanities and social sciences in LSA;
  • Gavin LaRose, teaching professor; Karen Rhea Collegiate Lecturer and lecturer IV in mathematics;
  • Peggy McCracken, the Anna Julia Cooper Distinguished University Professor of Medieval French Literature;
  • Mary Fair Croushore Professor; Domna C. Stanton Collegiate Professor of French; professor of French, of women’s and gender studies, and of comparative literature; and director of the Institute for the Humanities in LSA; 
  • Kevin Pipe, associate dean for undergraduate education, professor of mechanical engineering, and of electrical engineering and computer science, in the College of Engineering;
  • Lori Ploutz-Snyder, dean and professor of movement science in the School of Kinesiology;
  • Robin Queen, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Sarah G. Thomason Collegiate Professor of Linguistics; professor of Germanic languages and literatures, of linguistics, and of English language and literature; and chair of the Department of Communication and Media in LSA;
  • Daniel Rife, director of facilities and operations for LSA;
  • Melanie Sanford, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Moses Gomberg Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, and professor of chemistry in LSA;
  • Teresa Sebastian, alum and intermittent lecturer in law in the Law School; member of the LSA Dean’s Advisory Council; and president and CEO of The Dominion Asset Group;
  • Isis Settles, professor of psychology, of Afroamerican and African studies, and of women’s and gender studies; and associate dean for diversity, equity, and inclusion in LSA;
  • Jennifer Sierra, Ph.D. student, social sciences in LSA;
  • Melvin Stephens Jr., professor of economics in LSA; professor of public policy in the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; faculty associate in the Survey Research Center and Population Studies Center in the Institute for Social Research;
  • Jeffrey Veidlinger, Joseph Brodsky Collegiate Professor of History and Judaic Studies, and professor of Judaic studies and of history in LSA.

For more information about the position, view the job posting on the U-M website.