Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$root.page}}

Chairs and Directors

College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
Departments  Phone Address/Zip Chair/Director E-Mail Address
Afroamerican and African Studies (DAAS) 734.764.5513 4700 Haven Hall - 1045 Bénédicte Boisseron (Acting)  DAASchair@umich.edu
American Culture 734.615.6473 3703 Haven Hall - 1045 Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes amcult-chair@umich.edu
Anthropology 734.764.2319 101 West Hall - 1107 Kelly Askew anthro.chair@umich.edu
Asian Languages and Cultures (ALC) 734.764.8286 6111 Thayer Bldg.
48104-1608
Markus Nornes (Interim) alc-chair@umich.edu
Astronomy 734.764.3440 311 West Hall - 1107 Edwin (Ted) Bergin astrochair@umich.edu
Chemistry 734.763.9681 1500 Chemistry - 1055 Robert Kennedy chem-chair@umich.edu
Classical Studies 734.764.0360 2106 Angell Hall - 1003 Celia Schultz lsa-clas-chair@umich.edu
Communication and Media 734.764.0420 5370 North Quad. - 1285 Scott W. Campbell commchair@umich.edu
Comparative Literature 734.763.2351 2015 Tisch Hall - 1003 Yopie Prins chair-complit@umich.edu
Earth and Environmental Sciences 734.764.1435 2534B 1100 N. University Bldg. - 1005 Marin Clark earthchair@umich.edu
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology 734.615.4917 2244 Bio Bldg. - 1085 Trisha Wittkopp eeb-chair@umich.edu
Economics 734.764.2355 238 Lorch - 1220 Melvin (Mel) Stephens, Jr. economicschair@umich.edu
English Language and Literature 734.764.6330 3187 Angell Hall - 1003 Gaurav Desai desaig@umich.edu
Film, Television, and Media 734.764.0147 6330 North Quad - 1285 Yeidy Rivero sac-chair@umich.edu
Germanic Languages and Literatures 734.764.8018 3106 MLB - 1275 Andreas Gailus  GermanChair@umich.edu
History 734.764.6305 1029 Tisch Hall - 1003 Angela Dillard HistChair@umich.edu
History of Art 734.764.5400 110 Tappan - 1357 Christiane Gruber histart-chair@umich.edu
Linguistics 734.764.0353 440 Lorch - 1220 Acrisio Pires lingchair@umich.edu
Mathematics 734.764.0335 2074 East Hall - 1043 Tony Bloch math-chair@umich.edu
Middle East Studies 734.764.0314 4111 Thayer Bldg. - 48104 - 1608 Karla Mallette mes-chair@umich.edu
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology 734.764.7427 2220 Biological Sci. Bldg. - 1085 Kenneth Cadigan  mcdb-chair@umich.edu
Philosophy 734.764.6285 2215 Angell Hall - 1003 Tad Schmaltz phil-chair@umich.edu
Physics 734.763.7591 2477 Randall Lab - 1040 David Gerdes physicschair@umich.edu
Political Science 734.764.6313 5700 Haven Hall - 1045 Nancy Burns nburns@umich.edu
Psychology 734.764.2580 1012 East Hall - 1043 Patricia Reuter-Lorenz parl@umich.edu
Quantitative Methods in Social Sciences (QMSS) 734.763.1816 6th Floor Weiser Hall - 1042 Jan Van den Bulck jvdbulck@umich.edu
Romance Languages and Literatures 734.764.5344 4108 MLB - 1275 Gareth Williams garethw@umich.edu
Slavic Languages and Literatures 734.764.5355 3040 MLB - 1275 Mikhail (Misha) Krutikov slavicchair@umich.edu
Sociology 734.764.6324 3126 LSA Bldg. - 1382 Al Young soc-chair@umich.edu
Statistics 734.647.8192 323 West Hall - 1107 Liza Levina stat-chair@umich.edu
Women's and Gender Studies 734.615.6613 1122 Lane Hall - 1290 Ruby Tapia rtapia@umich.edu
Programs and Institutes
Program/Institute Phone Address/Zip Chair/Director E-Mail Address
Applied Physics Program 734.936.0653 2477 Randall Lab - 1040 Cagliyan Kurdak kurdak@umich.edu
Barger Leadership Institute (BLI) 734.764.8200 800 Weiser Hall - 1042 Ram Mahalingam ramawasi@umich.edu
Program in Biophysics 734.764.1146 4028 Chemistry - 1055 Charles Brooks brookscl@umich.edu
Center for Social Solutions 734.647.9707 6500 Haven Hall - 1045 Earl Lewis earlewis@umich.edu
Center for the Study of Complex Systems 734.763.3301 321 West Hall - 1107

Marisa Eisenberg

(Interim)

marisae@umich.edu
Digital Studies Institute 734.615.6472 G333 Mason Hall - 1045 Irina Aristarkhova (Acting) dsi-director@umich.edu
Humanities Institute 734.936.3518 1111 Thayer Bldg. - 48104-1608 Peggy McCracken humin-director@umich.edu
Humanities Collaboratory 734.764.3766 100 N. Hatcher Gallery - 1190 Kristin Hass kah@umich.edu
International Institute (II) 734.763.9200 500 Church St, Suite 300 - 1042 Mary Gallagher metg@umich.edu
Judiac Studies 734.763.9047 2111 Thayer 48104 - 1608 Scott Spector (Interim) js-director@umich.edu
National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID) 734.764.6497 3338 School of Ed. - 1259 Tabbye Chavous tchavous@umich.edu
Organizational Studies 734.764.6767 800 Weiser Hall - 1042 Mark Mizruchi mizruchi@umich.edu
Sweetland Center for Writing 734.764.0429 1310 North Quad - 1285 Theresa Tinkle tinkle@umich.edu
Weinberg Institute for Cognitive Science 734.615.3275 9th Floor, Weiser Hall - 1045 Rick Lewis rickl@umich.edu
World Performance Studies 734.936.2777 701 East University Ave, Rm. 1720 Mike Gould mgould@umich.edu
Museums
Museum Phone Address/Zip Chair/Director E-Mail Address
Museum of Anthropological Archaeology 734.647.2224 3010 School of Education - 1259 Mike Galaty mgalaty@umich.edu
Kelsey Museum of Archaeology 734.764.9304 434 S. State Street - 1390 Nicola Terrenato  kelsey-director@umich.edu
Museum of Paleontology 734.764.0489 3114 Biol. Sci. Bldg. - 1085 Matt Friedman mfriedm@umich.edu
Museum of Zoology 734.764.0476 RMC 3600 Varsity Dr. - 48108 Trisha Wittkopp eeb-chair@umich.edu
Biological Station 734.763.4461
231.539.8408 (May-Aug.)
2232 Biological Sciences Bldg. 1105 N. University Ave. - 1085

Aimée Classen

 

aclassen@umich.edu

 

Herbarium 734.615.6200 RMC 3600 Varsity Dr. - 2228 Trisha Wittkopp eeb-chair@umich.edu
Undergraduate Education Units
Units Phone Address/Zip Chair/Director E-Mail Address
Center for Global and Intercultural Study (CGIS) 734.764.4311 500 Church St, Suite 200 Michael Jordan micjor@umich.edu

Cohort Based Scholarship Programs

734.647.5240

2152 LSA - 1382

Gail Gibson

ggibsonz@umich.edu

Comprehensive Studies (CSP) 734.764.9128 1139 Angell Hall - 1285 Kierra Trotter trotterk@umich.edu
English Language Institute (ELI) 734.764.2413 555 S. Forest Ave. - 2584 Angelo Pitillo apitillo@umich.edu
Global Scholars Program (GSP) 734.764.3573 3145 North Quad. - 1285 Benjamin Peters balexp@umich.edu
Health Science Scholars Program (HSSP) 734.763.6091 1300 Couzens Hall - 2016 Lisa Harris lhharris@umich.edu
Honors Program 734.764.6274 1330 Mason Hall - 1027 Mika LaVaque-Manty mmanty@umich.edu
Intergroup Relations (IGR) 734.936.1875 1214 S. University 48104-2592 Donna Kaplowitz (Co-Director) donnakap@umich.edu
Language Resource Center (LRC) 734.764.0424 1500 North Quad. - 1285 Julie Evershed evershed@umich.edu
Lloyd Scholars for Writing and the Arts (LSW) 734.764.7521 100 Observatory, Alice Lloyd Hall - 2025 Carol Tell tellc@umich.edu
Michigan Community Scholars Program (MCSP) 734.647.4860 1813 East Quad. - 1245 Christine Modey cmodey@umich.edu 
Michigan Research and Discovery Scholars (MRADS) 734.936.6536 168 Mosher - Jordan Hall Adam Simon simonac@umich.edu

M-Sci Academy

734.647. 9690

1140 UGS - 2215

Victoria Booth

vbooth@med.umich.edu

Museum of Natural History (MNH) 734.764.0478 4506 Ruthven Museums - 1079 Amy Harris aharris@umich.edu

optiMize

734.764.3969

1100 LSA Building

Jeff Sorenson

jpsorens@umich.edu

Residential College (RC) 734.936.1998 1724 East Quad. - 1245 Catherine Badgley cbadgley@umich.edu

Scholarships

734.764.2906

2215 LSA - 1382

Doug Fletcher

douglasf@umich.edu

Science Learning Center (SLC) 734.764.9326 1720 Chemistry - 1055 Joe Salvatore joesalva@umich.edu

Student Academic Advising (SAA)

734.764.0332

1255 Angell - 1003

RaShonda Flint

rrflint@umich.edu

Student Recruitment 

734.936.7524

2150 LSA -  1382

Susan Perreault

horning@umich.edu

Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program (UROP) 734.615.9000 1190 USB - 2215 Michelle Ferrez mdferrez@umich.edu
Women in Science and Engineering Residence Program (WISE RP)
734.763.2026 200 Observatory  Natasha Turman nturman@umich.edu
International Institute Area Study Centers
Institute Phone Address/Zip Chair/Director E-Mail Address 
African Studies 734.615.3027 500 Church St, Suite 500 Adries Coetzee coetzee@umich.edu
Armenian Studies 734.763.0622 500 Church St, Suite 500 Melanie Tanielian meltan@umich.edu
Lieberthal-Rogel Center for Chinese Studies 734.764.6308 500 Church St, Suite 400 Twila Tardif twila@umich.edu
Weiser Center for Europe and Eurasia 734.647.0351 500 Church St, Suite 500 Genevieve Zubrzycki genez@umich.edu
Donia Human Rights Center  734.615.8482 500 Church St, Suite 300 Steven Ratner sratner@umich.edu
International and Comparative Studies 734.764.2268 500 Church St, Suite 300 Robert Franzese, Jr. franzese@umich.edu
Global Islamic Studies 734.615.9558 500 Church St, Suite 500 Aliyah Khan aliyrhan@umich.edu
Japanese Studies 734.764.6307 500 Church St, Suite 400 Shinubo Kitayama kitayama@umich.edu
Nam Center for Korean Studies 734.764.1825 500 Church St, Suite 400 Youngju Ryu yjryu@umich.edu
Latin American and Caribbean Studies 734.763.0553 500 Church St, Suite 500 Tori Langland langland@umich.edu
Middle Eastern and North African Studies 734.647.4143 500 Church St, Suite 500 Ryan Szpiech szpiech@umich.edu
The Copernicus Center in Polish Studies 734.764.0351 500 Church St, Suite 500 Genevieve Zubrzycki genez@umich.edu
Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies 734.764.0351 500 Church St, Suite 500 Benjamin Paloff paloff@umich.edu
Southeast Asian Studies 734.764.0352 500 Church St, Suite 500 Laura Rozek rozekl@umich.edu
South Asian Studies 734.615.4059 500 Church St, Suite 500 Matthew Hull csasdirector@umich.edu
Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies 734.764.0351 500 Church St, Suite 500 Dan Slater  dnsltr@umich.edu
Interdepartmental Programs
Program Phone Address/Zip Chair/Director E-Mail Address

Anthropology and History

734.764.6358

1029 Tisch Hall - 1003

Deirdre de la Cruz

ddelac@umich.edu

Classical Art and Archaeology

734.764.6323

434 S. State - 1390

Christopher Ratté

ratte@umich.edu

Greek and Roman History

734.764.0360

2160 Angell Hall - 1003

Ian Moyer

ianmoyer@umich.edu

Medieval, Early Modern Studies

734.763.2066

1029 Tisch Hall - 1003

Achim Timmermann

achimtim@umich.edu

Philosophy, Politics, and Economics 734.764.6285

2215 Angell Hall - 1003

David Baker

 

djbaker@umich.edu

Science, Technology, and Society

734.763.2066

2713 Haven Hall - 1003

John Carson

jscarson@umich.edu