Emily Russell is a senior in LSA Honors Political Science.  Emily has been involved in numerous research projects in the field of Peace and Security Studies and won the Beinecke Scholarship for social science research as a junior.  Last summer, Emily and Matt Harmon co-founded Playwriting for Peace, a five-week playwriting and theater program for youth in Kosovo with support from a Kathryn Davis Projects for Peace grant.  She also won a Hopwood Award from the English Department for her playwriting and campus productions.


Nadine Jawad graduated from the Ford School of Public Policy in 2018.  She served as U-M's student body vice president her senior year and was a co-founder of the non-profit organization Books for a Benefit that collects and distributes children's books to high-need communities throughout the state.  Nadine won the Truman Scholarship for public service in her junior year and was selected as a Rhodes Scholar in her senior year. She is currently completing a Master's degree in social policy at the University of Oxford.