Catherine Badgley, Richard Rabeler, Elizabeth Tibbetts

2017 promotions

The Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology is delighted to announce the following promotions effective Sept. 1, 2017: Catherine Badgley is promoted from associate professor to professor, Richard Rabeler is promoted from associate research scientist to research scientist and Elizabeth Tibbetts is promoted from associate professor to professor.

The promotions are a result of their impressive accomplishments in scholarship, teaching and service.

Badgley wins outstanding teaching award

Every year, the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts’ executive committee selects newly-promoted faculty with outstanding teaching records for special recognition. Professor Catherine Badgley received the 2017 John Dewey Award given to newly promoted full professors who have extraordinary undergraduate teaching records.

“Committee members were impressed by your ongoing contributions to EEB and the Residential College, particularly in the field of food system studies,” reads the award letter. “While we all expressed admiration for the thoughtful quality of your teaching statement, your well-designed courses, and the stellar evaluations you have received in courses across the curricula of EEB and the RC, the committee was especially enthusiastic about your commitment to experiential learning and the self-efficacy of undergraduates.”

Karin Douthit. Image: Austin Thomason, Michigan Photography.

Douthit honored with Linnean Society botanical artist award

Karin Douthit, the U-M Herbarium artist from 1969 - 2014 was awarded the Jill Smythies Award for outstanding illustrations by the Linnean Society of London. Douthit’s work enhanced the publications of many botanists at the U-M Herbarium as well as at other institutions.

The Jill Smythies Award is given to a botanical artist in recognition of excellence in published illustrations in aid of plant identification, with the emphasis on botanical accuracy.

Dan Rabosky

Rabosky honored with Russel Award

Professor Dan Rabosky has been honored with the 2018 Henry Russel Award, given to early-mid career faculty who have demonstrated an extraordinary record of accomplishment in scholarly research and/or creativity, as well as an excellent record of contributions as a teacher.

“Dan is the complete academic package and is already an internationally recognized innovator and intellectual leader in the field of macroevolutionary biology – evolution of whole taxonomic groups over long periods of time. He has established himself as an exemplary curator in the UMMZ Division of Amphibians and Reptiles – the second largest such collection in existence,” reads the nomination letter by EEB Professor and Chair Diarmaid Ó Foighil.

Compiled by Gail Kuhnlein