Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Class of 1923 Memorial Teaching Award and John Dewey Award

The Class of 1923 Memorial Teaching Award recipients are selected each year by the College Executive Committee from among those recommended for promotion from assistant professor to associate professor with tenure. Award recipients have demonstrated outstanding teaching during their first years on the faculty. While this award recognizes teaching, it is only given to individuals whose achievements and promise auger well for a productive career as a scholar.

The John Dewey Award recipients are selected each year by the College Executive Committee from among those recommended for promotion from associate professor to full professor with tenure. Award recipients have demonstrated long-term commitment to the education of undergraduate students.

All faculty members who are reviewed for promotion will be considered for the appropriate award; no separate nomination is necessary.

Class of 1923 Memorial Teaching Award - Recipients

2020 Jatin Dua Anthropology
  Aliyah Khan English/DAAS
  Kerri Pratt Chemistry
  Sara Soderstrom Organizational Studies/PitE
2019 Emily Wilcox Asian Languages and Cultures
  Jonathan Brennan Linguistics
  Jayakrishnan Nandakumar Molecular
  Keren Sharon Astronomy
2018 Nicholas Henriksen Department of Romance Languages and Literatures
  Ann Miller Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
  Dominika Zgid Department of Chemistry
  Sara McClelland Departments of Psychology & Women's Studies
2017 Jason De Leon Department of Anthropology
  Nathaniel Szymczak Department of Chemistry
  Melanie Yergeau Department of English
2016 Omolade Adunbi DAAS
  Colin Gunckel American Culture and Screen Arts & Cultures
  Sarah Koch Mathematics
  Nicolai Lehnert Chemistry
  Sandra Levitsky Sociology
  Christopher Miller Astronomy & Physics
2015 Stephen Berrey American Culture and History
  Timothy James EEB
  Jeff McMahon Physics
  Ellen Muehlberger NES and History
2014 Youngju Ryu Asian Languages and Cultures
  Sari van Anders Psychology and Women's Studies
  Bart Bartlett Chemistry
  Gillian White English Language and Literature
  Lyle Simmons Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
2013 Sarah Moss Philosophy
  Ethan Kross Psychology
  Martha Bailey Economics
  David Lubensky Physics
  David Manley Philosophy
  Anne McNeil Chemistry
2012 Paulina Alberto History, Romance Languages
  Gyorgyi Csankovszki Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
  Ian Moyer History
  Elizabeth Tibbetts Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
2011 Kevin Carr History of Art
  Victoria Johnson Organizational Studies
  Patricia Wittkopp EEB
2008 Allen Hicken Economics
  Laura Kasischke English/Residential College
  Ramaswami Mahaligam Psychology
2007 Kristen Moore Mathematics
  Mika Lavaque-Manty Political Science
2006 Anna Mapp Chemistry
  Margaret Shih Psychology
  Matthew Lassiter History
2005 James Liu Physics
  Steven Abney Linguistics
2004 Derek Collins Classical Studies
  Michele Mitchell History
2003 Howard G. Lay the History of Art
2002 Andrew J. Shryock Anthropology
2001 Timothy McKay Physics
2000 Freida Ekotta Romance Languages
  Mark E.Brandon Political Science
1998 Johanna Prins English
  Richard Goldstein Chemistry
  Susanto Basu Economics
1997 Mario Mateo Astronomy
  Rebecca Lange Geology
1996 Laura J. Olsen Biology
1995 Susan E. Alcock Classical Studies
1994 John Whittier-Ferguson English
1993 Julia Adams Sociology
1992 Michael D. Kennedy Sociology
1991 James L. Hilton Psychology
1990 Kim Lane Scheppele Political Science
  Paul Pintrick School of Education
1989 Martha Feldman Political Science
1988 Howard A. Kimeldorf Sociology
1987 Stanton Garner English
1986 Anthony Edwards Classical Studies
1985 Karen K. Wixson School of Education
1984 Robert LyonsDanly Asian Languages
1983 Miroslav Nincic Political Science
1982 Robert D. Fogel Biology
1981 Barbara Bono English
1980 Susan Harding Anthropology
1978 Steven Lavine English
1977 Gerald F. Linderman History
1976 Harvey Blankespoor Biology
1975 Robert Weisbuch English
1974 Ralph G. Williams English
1973 William Moran  
1972 Shunichi Kato  
1971 Patricia Y. Gurin Psychology
1970 Clifton Olds  
1969 Ellis Wunch  
1968 John Kolars Near Eastern Studies
1967 Thomas N. Tentler History
1966 Martin Schwarz  
1965 H. Don Cameron Classical Studies
1964 James N. Cather Biology
1963 Hubert English, Jr. English

John Dewey Award - Recipients

2020 Christine Aidala
  Gregory Dick
  Michael Witgen
2019 Sarah Burgard
  Brian Arbic
  Andreas Gailus
2018 Andries Coetzee
  Meghan Duffy
  Stephen Maldonado
  Catherine Sanok
2017 Ramaswami Mahalingam
  Matthew Lassiter
  Martha Bailey
  Catherine Badgley
  Henriette Elvang
2016 Ethan Kross
  Susan Parrish
2015 Eric Bell
  Miranda Brown
  Robin Means Coleman
  Johannes von Moltke
  Patricia Wittkopp
2014 Rosario Ceballo
  Douglas Northrop
  Jason Owen-Smith
2013 Sarah Buss
  George Hoffman
  Chris Poulsen
  Arthur Verhoogt
2012 Anne Curzan
  James Liu
  John Wolfe
2011 Laura Olsen
  Adela Pinch
  Kerby Shedden
  Andrew Shryock
  Monique Ward
2010 Elizabeth Cole
  William Gehring
  Brian Porter-Szucs
  Melanie Sanford
  Alford Young