Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Alumni Updates

Please send updates about our alumni or information you would like to share to or by clicking here.

Congratulations to Dr. Lacey Carpenter (Visiting Instructor of Anthropology, Hamilton College), who successfully defended her dissertation May 2019.

Cameron Gokee (PhD 2012), who was recently awarded grant funding from the National Science Foundation to conduct archaeological research in the Bandafassi of eastern Senegal - a West African 'shatter zone'. 


Dr. Christina Sampson (teaching at Everett Community College in Washington) and Dr. Chelsea Fisher (joining the Environmental Studies Program faculty at Washington and Lee University in Fall 2019) successfully defended their dissertations in December 2018 and January 2019, respectively.


Meghan Howey (PhD 2006) is now Professor of Anthropology and Department Chair at the University of New Hampshire.


Jamie Clark (PhD 2009) is now Associate Professor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks in May 2018.


T. Douglas Price (PhD 1973), Weinstein Professor of European Archaeology, emeritus, at the University of Wisconsin Madison, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.


John Norder (PhD 2003), Director of the Native American Institute and Associate Professor of Anthropology, Michigan State University, is appointed as Compliance Officer and Curator of Native American and Indigenous Studies and Engagement at MSU.


Lynn Rainville (PhD 2001) named Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at Sweet Briar College, and continues in her role as Director of the Tusculum Institute.