On April 28, family, friends, faculty, and staff packed Auditorium 3 in the Modern Languages Building to celebrate 110 students graduating with degrees in History.

Director of Undergraduate Studies Perrin Selcer and Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies Kate Wroblewski served as emcees, and Department Chair Angela Dillard delivered welcome remarks. Elizabeth Celia Yoon delivered a student address to the Class of 2023. Professor Deirdre de la Cruz, historian and cultural anthropologist of the Philippines, delivered the ceremony's keynote address, "Know Where You Stand." 

Madeleine Christine Lee won the department’s Undergraduate Award for Leadership and Service. Professor Jason Young received the Undergraduate Teaching Award, which was presented by History Club's Nina Naffziger.

Click here to see the 2023 commencement program (PDF). Selected photos are available below.