Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Awards and Honors

University Awards

ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award 

2016, Austin McCoy / History
"No Radical Hangover: Progressive Economic Responses to Economic Crisis in the Midwest, 1967-1989"

2015, Davide Orsini / Anthropology and History
"Life in the Nuclear Archipelago: Cold War Technopolitics and US Nuclear Submarines in Italy"

2014, Ronit Stahl / History
"God, War, and Politics: The American Military Chaplaincy and the Making of a Multireligious Nation"

2013, Federico Helfgott / Anthropology and History
"Transformations in Labor, Land and Community: Mining and Society in Pasco, Peru, 20th C to the Present"

Distinguished Graduate Student Instructor Award

2018, Salem Elzway / History
          Brittany Maugeri / History and Women's Studies

2017, Noah Blan, Emma Park

2016, Tara Dosumu Diener / Anthropology and History 
          Alyssa Penick / History     

2015, Jacqueline Antonovich

2014, Melissa A. Johnson, Jacqueline Larios

2013, Joseph Ho

2011, Ismail Alatas / Anthropology and History

2010, Jennifer Finn


Department Awards

Fondiler Dissertation Prize

2017, Sophie Hunt
"Grasping the Gulf: Conquest and Indigenous Power from Florida to Yucatan in the Age of Revolutions"

2016, Elizabeth Kamali
"A Felonious State of Mind: Mens Rea in Thirteenth- and Fourteenth-Century England"

2015, Ronit Stahl
 "God, War, and Politics: The American Military Chaplaincy and the Making of a Multireligious Nation"

2014, Pedro Monaville
"Decolonizing the University: Postal Politics, The Student Movement, and Global 1968 in the Congo"

2013, Joshua White
"Catch and Release: Piracy, Slavery, and Law in the Early Modern Ottoman Mediterranean"

2012, Anne Berg
"In and Out of War: Space, Pleasure and Cinema in Hamburg, 1938-1949"

2012, Ian Campbell
"Knowledge and Power on the Kazakh Steppe, 1845-1917"

2011, Dea Boster
"Unfit for Bondage: Disability and African American Slavery in the United States 1800-1860"

2010, Alice Weinreb
"Matters of Taste: The Politics of Food and Hunger in Divided Germany 1945-1971"

Sidney Fine Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award in History

2018, Alexander McConnell, Brittany Maugeri 

2017, Noah Blan, Emma Park

2016, Tiggy McLaughlin, Sophia Hunt

2015, Davide Orsini, Mary Kathleen Wroblewski

2014, Melissa A. Johnson, Jacqueline Larios

John Williams Prize for Graduate Instructors in US History

2018, Salem Elzway

2016, Alyssa Penick

2015, Jacqueline D. Antonovich