In addition to an abundance of awards previously reported in EEB news throughout the 2016- 2017 academic year, here is a brag sheet on the rest of the competitive awards EEB graduate students have gathered throughout the past academic year:

Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology awards

Sara Colom and Amanda Meier, EEB-Matthaei Botanical Gardens Fellowship

Leslie Decker, Helen Olson Brower Memorial Fellowship

Paul Glaum and Jeff Shi, Edwin H. Edwards Scholarship in Biology

More about EEB awards and more

U-M Museum of Zoology awards

Iris Holmes, Pamela Murillo Rojas, Beatriz Otero Jimenez, Pascal Title, Lisa Walsh and Andrew Wood, Edwin C. Hinsdale Scholarship

Joanna Larson, Edward C. Walker Award

More about UMMZ graduate student awards

Other U-M awards

Corbin Kuntze, U-M Biological Station Marian P. and David M. Gates Graduate Student Support

Jillian Myers, Junior Fellow, Sweetland Fellows Seminar

Pascal Title, Michigan Institute for Computational Discovery and Engineering Fellowship

Chatura Vaidya, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, field research grant for graduate students

External awards

Giorgia Auteri, Student Science Policy Award, American Society of Mammalogists

Shawn Colborn, Travel grant, Michigan Chapter of the Wildlife Society

Michelle Fearon, Centennial Pollinator Fellowship, Garden Club of America

Teal Harrison, Microscopy Training Fellowship, American Microscopical Society; and Visiting Student Fellowship, Smithsonian Minority Awards

Xorla Ocloo and Lisa Walsh, Grants-in-Aid of Research, American Society of Mammalogists

Beatriz Otero Jimenez, research grant, Theodore Roosevelt Memorial Fund of the American Museum

Kristel Sanchez, Honorable Mention, Ford Fellowship

Awards previously announced in EEB graduate web news are not included in this list. If your competitive award is not included on this list and was not previously announced in EEB web news, please email Gail Kuhnlein to share your good news.

Showing off this beauty and our graduate student’s many successes. Image: Michelle Fearon.