University of Michigan professors Ruth Behar, Ruth Scodel and Karen Smith are the newest members named to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The trio are among 252 artists, scholars, scientists and leaders in the public, nonprofit and private sectors. The class includes Michigan alumnus and CNN chief medical correspondent Sanjay Gupta and media entrepreneur and philanthropist Oprah Winfrey.

“We are honoring the excellence of these individuals, celebrating what they have achieved so far, and imagining what they will continue to accomplish,” said David Oxtoby, president of the American Academy. “The past year has been replete with evidence of how things can get worse. This is an opportunity to illuminate the importance of art, ideas, knowledge and leadership that can make a better world.”

Originally published April 22, 2021, University of Michigan News. Click here for full article.