Congratulations to the recipients of the Biophysics program’s second annual awards, recognizing the achievements of our outstanding graduate and undergraduate students.

We are pleased to offer these awards, made possible by the generous support of our friend and colleague Sam Krimm through the Krimm Endowment established by Sam in support of graduate students in Biophysics.

The Exceptional Undergraduate Student Award recognizes graduating biophysics majors or minors. The second annual Exceptional Undergraduate award is being shared by Jonah Lindau and Becky Perelman. Both students have made major contributions to research in their respective labs while being leaders in the Biophysics Club and other program activities.


The Krimm Exceptional Graduate Student Award recognizes mid-career graduate students who are actively working on dissertation projects. This year's Krimm Exceptional Graduate student award goes to Sicong Ma. Sicong's work in the Keane lab is focused on identifying structure-function relationships in microRNAs with a particular emphasis on the role that base pair mismatches play in their function. Sicong has a great start on his career path as a biophysicist with one published paper and another available via bioRxiv.