The International Conference of Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems ( was co-founded by Oleg Jardetzky, Mildred Cohn, and Robert Schulman in 1964. The conference has been organized biannually over the past half century, and currently attracts between 800 and 1,000 scientists to a six-day scientific forum held at different locations across the world.

In 2002, the ICMRBS Council established the Founders’ Medal to recognize exceptional contributions by young scientists (under 41 years at the time of the award) to the development and/or progress of the field of magnetic resonance in biological systems. An award winner will receive the Medal as well as $3,000 (in USD), and she or he will be invited to present a lecture at the XXVth ICMRBS meeting, which will be held in Lyon, France, August 19-24, 2012.