Congratulations, Chuck, for receiving the inaugural James Garand Outstanding Mentor Award from the Southern Political Science Association!

This award honors James C. Garand and is intended to recognize outstanding mentors in political science. He also received the Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award in 2021, joining other exceptional recipients in the Political Science department: Vincent Hutchings, Robert Franzese, Mary Corcoran, James Morrow, John Jackson, Elizabeth Wingrove, and Allen Hicken.


Charles R. Shipan is the J. Ira and Nicki Harris Professor of Social Science, Professor in the Department of Political Science, and Professor (by courtesy) at the Ford School of Public Policy.

Prior to joining the faculty at Michigan, Shipan served on the faculty at the University of Iowa. He also has held positions as a research fellow at the Brookings Institution and as a visiting scholar at Trinity College in Dublin, the U.S. Studies Centre at the University of Sydney, the London School of Economics and Political Science, and the Australian National University.

He is the author or co-author of Why Bad Policies Spread (and Good Ones Don't); Deliberate Discretion?; Designing Judicial Review; and The U.S. Congress. In addition, he has published dozens of articles and book chapters on political institutions and public policy. He has received the Herbert Simon Award, the Deil Wright Award, the Richard Fenno Prize, the William Riker Award, and several other honors for his research. In addition, he has received numerous awards for his teaching and mentorship of undergraduate and graduate students.