Congratulations to Kevin Quinn, who Mary Sue Coleman asked to serve as a Senior Fellow in the Society of Fellows. 

The Michigan Society of Fellows, under the auspices of the Rackham Graduate School, was founded in 1970 with endowment grants from the Ford Foundation and the Horace H. and Mary Rackham Funds. The seven founding UM faculty members hailed from Economics, German, English, the Law School, the School of Natural Resources and Environment (now SEAS), and the Medical School, including the then president of the university, Robben Fleming.

Here's how the Society describes the group of Senior Fellows

The Society draws together fellows from all scholarly and artistic fields to stimulate cross-disciplinary awareness and exchange. Out of these conversations come new ideas, new methodological experiments, and even new collaborative projects. We welcome six postdoctoral fellows each year for a term of three years and a group of senior fellows drawn from distinguished faculty across the University of Michigan for a term of four years. The Society seeks to have a rough balance among the Natural and Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities among its fellows. Fellows are invited to the Society not only because their scholarship or artistic expression is compelling, timely, pathbreaking, and imaginative but also because their work will thrive best in a space where multiple fields of inquiry converge.

Kevin joins this group of former Senior Fellows from Political Science, in reverse order of appointment:  Lisa Disch, Mika LaVaque-Manty, Pam Brandwein, Scott Page, Liz Wingrove, Barry Rabe, Nancy Burns, Don Herzog, Bob Axelrod, and Ali Mazrui.