Nancy Burns, Chair for the Department of Political Science was honored with the Martha Derthick Best Book Award for her book, The Formation of American Local Governments: Private Values in Public Institutions by the APSA Organized Section on Federalism and Intergovernmental Relations. The award will be presented at the Section's Business meeting at the American Political Science Association's Annual Meeting in San Francisco in September 2015.