Arthur (Skip) Lupia has been selected by the American Political Science Association (APSA) as the recipient of the Ithiel de Sola Pool Award and Lectureship. As part of the award, Skip will deliver an address during the annual APSA conference. The address will be titled "The Public Value of Social Science Research".

The 2013 Ithiel de Sola Pool Award committee members included James N. Druckman (Chair) of Northwestern University, Stephen J. Farnsworth of University of Mary Washington, and Melissa Nobles of Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The Ithiel de Sola Pool Award and Lectureship was established in 1995 by the Association to honor the memory and contributions of Ithiel de Sola Pool and to be given to a scholar selected to present a lecture exploring the implications of research on issues of politics in a broad range of scholarship pursued by Ithiel de Sola Pool.   The lectureship is presented every third year at the APSA Annual Meeting.  The criteria for this award state that the lecturing scholar will evoke a broad range of fields pursued by Ithiel de Sola Pool including: political theory, political behavior, political communication, science and technology policy, and international affairs.

Past recipients include:
1995 Robert D. Putnam, Harvard University
1998 W. Lance Bennett, University of Washington
2001 Kathleen Hall Jamieson, University of Pennsylvania  
2004 Manuel Castells, University of Southern California; Universitat Oberta de Catalunya
2007 Lawrence Lessig, Stanford University Law School
2010 Kristen Renwick Monroe, University of California, Irvine

Congratulations Skip!