The Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology is delighted to present the EEB First Paper Award to recognize Daohan (Rex) Jiang, Sonal Gupta, Mengyi Sun and Haiqing Xu on their first lead-authored publications.  

Gupta, S., Rosenthal, D. M., Stinchcombe, J. R. & Baucom, R. S. The remarkable morphological diversity of leaf shape in sweetpotato (Ipomoea batatas): the influence of genetics, environment, and G×E. New Phytol. (2019). doi:10.1111/nph.16286.

Sun, M., and J. Zhang (2019) Chromosome-wide co-fluctuation of gene expression in mammalian cells. PLOS Genet. doi:15:e1008389.

Xu, H., J.-J. Liu, Z. Liu, Y. Li, Y.-S Jin, and J. Zhang (2019) Synchronization of stochastic expressions drives the clustering of functionally related genes. Sci. Adv., doi:5:eaax6525.

Jiang, D., and J. Zhang (2019) The preponderance of nonsynonymous A-to-I RNA editing in coleoids is nonadaptive. Nat. Commun. doi:10.1038/s41467-019-13275-2 

Gupta is advised by Professor Regina Baucom and Jiang, Sun and Xu are advised by Professor Jianzhi Zhang. They received certificates signed by Professor Zhang, associate chair for graduate studies, and Professor Diarmaid Ó Foighil, EEB chair. They each receive a $30 book store gift card.