Professor Earl Werner, director of the E.S. George Reserve, has been named an Ecological Society of America Fellow, a lifetime appointment. 

The ESA unveiled two new Fellows programs to recognize and honor member contributions to the field of ecology. “The Fellows and Early Career Fellows programs will recognize the many ways in which our members contribute to ecological research and discovery, communication, education and pedagogy, and to management and policy,” said ESA President Scott Collins.  

“Our goals are to honor our members and to support their competitiveness and advancement to leadership positions in the society, at their institutions and in broader society,” said ESA Awards Committee Chair Alan Hastings.

Hastings, together with ESA Vice President for Science Deborah Goldberg, Past President Steward Pickett and Executive Director Katherine McCarter, proposed the establishment of the Fellows and Early Careers Fellows program to the Society’s Governing Board which approved the proposal. 

The ESA is the world’s largest community of professional ecologists and the trusted source of ecological knowledge. ESA is committed to advancing the understanding of life on Earth.  The 10,000 member society publishes five journals, convenes an annual scientific conference, and broadly shares ecological information through policy and media outreach and education initiatives.