Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

News Archive Pre-2010

Scott Page & Sharon Glotzer named to 2011 American Academy of Arts and Science

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Announces 2011 Class of Members


*Press Release*

CAMBRIDGE, MA - Some of the world's most accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The 212 new members join one of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies and a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy studies of science and technology policy, global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities, and education.
'It is a privilege to honor these men and women for their extraordinary individual accomplishments,' said *Leslie Berlowitz*, Academy President and William T. Golden Chair. 'The knowledge and expertise of our members give the Academy a unique capacity - and responsibility - to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing challenges of the day. We look forward to engaging our new members in this work.'

Among the 2011 class of scholars, scientists, writers, artists, civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders are winners of the Nobel, Pulitzer, and Pritzker Prizes; the Turing Award; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; and Kennedy Center Honors, Grammy, Golden Globe, and Academy awards.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 1, at the Academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has elected leading "thinkers and doers" from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Scott Page on

Teachers influence lives, now and into the future. As a teacher, you have the unique ability to promote opportunity for all children. You can reduce inequality in the classroom. Making a positive impact on just one child can spill over into that child's school and community, now and into the future. 

Carl Simon Named to NIH Panel

Carl Simon has been named to a National Institutes of Health (NIH) panel charged with studying the origins of health disparities using a complex systems approach. The 20-member panel, called the Network on Inequality, Complexity and Health has representatives from the health and medical fields, public policy, sociology and computer science. The Network is administered by the Center for Social Epidemiology and Population Health (CSEPH) in the School of Public Health. CSCS is working with CSEPH to develop computational models of health disparities. 

CSCS Director Testifies Before Congress

On July 20, 2010, CSCS Director Scott Page testified before the U.S. House Committee on Science and Technology's Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight. His topic was Building a Science of Economics for the Real World. 

New Book on Networks

Mark Newman, a CSCS faculty member, has written a new book called "Networks: An Introduction" recently published by Oxford University Press. More information is at

CSCS Director Interviewed by NASA

In June 2010, Scott Page was interviewed by Ask the Academy, a monthly e-newsletter published by NASA's Academy of Program/Project Engineering and Leadership (APPEL).