Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Departmental Funding

The Department of Communication and Media solicits applications for academic awards for fall, winter and summer terms. Declared Communication and Media majors with at least junior standing may apply for departmental awards. Award criteria and application requirements vary for each award. Applicants should refer to the award instructions and application for the appropriate term for details. Award amounts are subject to availability and may change each term. 

Deadline for Summer Awards Application: May 15, 2022!

Undergraduate Fall Awards

Fall Award Application

Ann Arbor News Scholarship – Established in 1967 with a gift from the Ann Arbor News, this annual scholarship will be awarded to undergraduate or graduate students active in Communication and Media, with a preference for students who intend to enter the newspaper field.

John L. and Clara M. Brumm Memorial Scholarship – Named for the founder and director of the Michigan Interscholastic Press Association, this award is given in recognition of outstanding academic performance to a student active in Communication and Media.

The James P. Chapman Memorial Scholarship – Established in 1998 by CARA charities to honor the memory of James P. Chapman, career journalist and publicist active in CARA charity work, this scholarship is awarded to students active in Communication and Media.

Carole Simpson Minority Aid Scholarship – Established in 1992 by Carole Simpson, award-winning senior correspondent for ABC News, this scholarship is given to students active in Communication and Media.

Leland Stowe Award  Established in 1981 by Leland and Theodora Stowe, this scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate Communication and Media student in recognition of academic excellence, with a preference for a student seeking a career in print communication.

Undergraduate Winter Awards

Winter Award Application

Mary Lou Butcher Equality in Journalism Award – This award commemorates the 1984 class action discrimination suit against the Detroit News, settled in favor of Mary Lou Butcher and three other Detroit News employees. This award is given to a continuing Communication and Media student who demonstrates outstanding promise for professional achievement in the news media. Finalists for this awards must submit a short essay on the topic "Diversity in the Newsroom - Who Benefits and Why?"

The J. Evens Campbell Scholarship – Established in 1973 by friends and family of longtime leader in journalism, J. Evens Campbell, this award is given for academic excellence to a senior majoring in Communication and Media, with preference for those seeking careers in print communication.

Saks Family Scholarship – Established in 1997 at the bequest of Lewis H. Saks, this scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior Communication and Media student who shows potential to contribute to their major area of study, particularly in the areas of social growth or individual creative achievement.

Claude Sifritt Undergraduate Award – Established in 1979 with a gift from the estate of Claude Sifritt, this award is given to an undergraduate Communication and Media student in recognition of outstanding academic performance.

Summer Awards

Click on the links below to access the application forms!

Kara Sundlun House Scholarship Fund – Established in 2006 through a gift from Kara Sundlun House, a broadcast news reporter and 1997 Communication and Media graduate, to encourage and support a Communication and Media student participating in an unpaid summer internship in broadcast journalism.

Michael Luckoff Internship Award – Established in 1986 through a gift from Michael Luckoff, legendary KGO RADIO's President and General Manager for 35 years and innovator in the NEWSTALK radio format, to support a Communication and Media undergraduate student participating in an unpaid summer internship in commercial radio broadcasting.

Summer Internship Stipend – The department provides a limited number of stipends for students participating in unpaid summer internships related to mass communication, media studies, or journalism. Both graduate and declared Communication and Media majors are eligible to apply. Funding is limited and stipend applications will be considered on the following criteria:

  • Quality of an applicant's prior academic work
  • Correlation of internship to the applicant’s academic study and career interests
  • Applicant's progress toward degree
  • Evidence of applicant’s commitment to pursue a professional career in mass communication, media studies, journalism, or community journalism