Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Administrators & Staff

The professional staff of the Department of American Culture are available to help current and prospective students and faculty understand and feel part of the American Culture community, College and University. Our knowledgeable staff are dedicated to supporting students, serving as liaisons with alumni and alumnae, helping to recruit first-rate graduate students and faculty, and building bridges with other units in the College and University.

COVID-19 response:  Please be advised that a number of faculty and staff are working remotely during this time. Voicemail messages will be translated and transmitted to recipients via email.

We endeavor to respond to all inquiries and thank you for your patience during this time if you experience slower than normal responses.

Business Hours
Monday – Friday | 8 AM - 5 PM (Fall  & Winter); 8 AM - 4:30 PM (Spring & Summer)

Surface Mail
505 S. State Street, 3700 Haven Hall, Ann Arbor MI 48109-1045

Department Leadership

Office of the Chair
Chair — Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes | Voicemail: 734-615-6473
Associate Chair and Director of the UG Studies Program — John Cheney-Lippold | 734-764-6799
Director of the Graduate Studies Program — Colin Gunckel | 734-615-2935

Ethnic Studies Programs
Director of Arab and Muslim American Studies — Khaled Mattawa | 734-764-9208
Director of Asian/Pacific Islander American Studies — Manan Desai | 734-615-2524
Director of Latina/o Studies — Ashley Lucas | 734-763-1860
Director of Native American Studies — Barbra A. Meek | 734-936-3192

Department Directory Switch to Department Gallery, 12 per page
Submit Department People Search Clear Search
Click Letter to Filter by Last Name:

No Results Found