Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship

The Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship was established with contributions of Hopwood winners and other students of Professor Cowden, who was the Director of the Hopwood Prize Program from 1935 to 1952. Recipients must be University of Michigan undergraduates. 


Each student must fill out an entry form and submit a sample of his or her writing in the areas of drama, screenplay, nonfiction, fiction, or poetry. There are no required page limits, but the contestants should give the judges sufficient material to make an evaluation, e.g., 15-25 pages for fiction or 10-20 pages for poetry.  Entries should be in 10-12 point font, in PDF format.   A contestant must use a pen name--entirely different from his or her real name. Please make sure the pen name in your profile matches the one on the PDF.  The same pen name must be used for all fall term contests.  This name should only appear on the title page, nowhere else in the manuscript. 

The PDF must have a title page on which shall appear: 

  • The title
  • The pen name
  • The contest and area (e.g., the Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship--Fiction)

A contestant may win the Cowden Fellowship only once.  The same manuscript may be submitted in other contests administered by the Hopwood Program; manuscripts that have already won prizes may also be submitted in this contest. Be aware that your prize is considered a "resource" and could impact future award packages. Contests winners should not to enroll in courses during the spring/summer term to avoid having their awards allocated for tuition.