Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

2021 Graduation

Dear History of Art and Museum Studies graduates...

Although we cannot celebrate with you in person, we would be remiss if we didn't highlight your accomplishments in a meaningful way. You have all worked incredibly hard, and the entire faculty and administration are proud of your achievements and how well you've represented the field of History of Art and Museum Studies. Many opportunities now lie ahead of you, and your grasp on the skills cultivated by studying History of Art is only to your benefit in our ever-changing and visually dynamic world.

Remember, wherever you go, Forever Go Blue.

2021 History of Art Commencement Address

With remarks from...

Christiane Gruber, Department Chair of History of Art

Howard Lay, Director of Undergraduate Studies of History of Art

Deirdre L.C. Hennebury, Associate Director of the Museum Studies Program

Lihong Liu, Sally Michelson Davidson Assistant Professor of Chinese Arts and Cultures

Brendan McMahon, Associate Professor of History of Art


History of Art Majors     

   History of Art Minors 

  Museum Studies Minors 

Avery Apostle

Beck Arnett

Alissandra Aronow 

Aja Brandmeier

Jocelyne Campos 

Delaney Dahlstrom 

Phoebe Danaher 

Abigail Deemer 

Lauren Deutsch

Ariel Friedlander 

Samuel Kremke 

Chesney Lambert 

Sophia Layton 

Amanda Leitman

Ariel Lowenstern 

Lily McCann 

Morgan McCaul

Anita Michaud 

Sara Shoemaker 

Victoria Thede 

































Gabriella Armstrong 

Madeleine Azar

Christopher Baird

Harrison Bauer

Giacomo Benvegnu

Nicholas Ceccio 

Albert Che

Joel Danilewitz

Madeline Dorris

Jason Du

Thomas Dye

Nicole Evans

Chloe Farhadi

Mary Finch

Patrick Girard

Ryan Goodwin

Natalie Guisinger

Eliana Harrison

Prathik Hosalli

Andy Huntsman

Vivian Istomin

Rachel Kass

Emma Kruse

Brianna Kucharski

Grace Lasky

Sophia Linden

Chloe Linkner

Peri Macinic

Colleen McGowan

Diana Melikyan

Michael Motoc

Alice Munro

Justin Muse

Jacob Nugent

Celia Oleshansky

Emily Phuong

Michelle Pikulinski

Julia Reguera

Helen Rhines

Ellie Rocheleau

Shannon Rumsey

Lee Shapiro

Varis Shnatepaporn

Sofia Stark

Marin Tarnowski

Samuel Tucker

Benjamin Vassar

Ethan Walker

Constance Wang

Patrick Wilton

Katelin Yoon 

Fangzhou Yu


Anneke Benison 

Elise Borbely

Yeager Edwards

Charlotte Fater

Hailey Glushyn

Kaitlyn Hinson 

Elizabeth Hungerman

Jillian Luciow 

Abigail Miya

Lydia Plescher

Molly Rose Powers

Estrella Salgado

Katherine Sherry

Danielle Silverman

Austin Teholiz

Kate Zhou






































2021 Undergraduate Henry P. Tappan Award Winners

The award for Academic Excellence in the History of Art is determined on the basis of overall academic performance.

Aja Brandmeier 


The award for Outstanding Performance in the History of Art Honors Program is intended for an Honors major whose senior thesis and general academic performance are deemed to be outstanding.

Phoebe Danaher


The award for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Studies is reserved for a History of Art major whose work has successfully sought to analyze the visual materials of diverse peoples and cultures.

Sara Shoemaker 


The award for Outstanding Service to the History of Art Community is to be presented to a student who has volunteered enthusiastic service to the Department, to fellow students, and to the University.

Sophia Layton


The award for Excellence in Museum Studies recognizes a student who has excelled in the Museum Studies minor, and who has demonstrated a sustained interest in museum-based research, curatorial practices, and museum education programs.

Estrella Salgado


History of Art Challenge

This year, for something a little extra, we asked students to send us their recreations of a work of art, whatever that meant to them. Click through the slideshow to see all submissions. Thanks to everyone who sent something in, we love to see these!