Elizabeth McNeill won the German's Department Alan P. Cottrell Prize for the best paper written in a German Studies seminar over the course of 2017. Her paper is titled: "The Self-Other in the Mirror: Polar Bears as Liminal Subjects in Yoko Tawada’s Etüden im Schnee". The paper was selected for its breadth, its capacious references to both primary and secondary literature, its sense of purpose and its clarity of presentation.

Honorary Mention was awarded to Erik Pomrenke for the paper he wrote titled "On the Will to Suffer: Nietzsche and the Metaphysics of Pain."