The program, supported in part by $12.5 million from the federal economic stimulus act, is aimed at enouraging students to pursue graduate degrees in physics, biology, chemistry, mathematics, engineering, computational sciences and environmental science.

The six Michigan students selected:

  • Sarah Anderson, University of Michigan - Physics
  • Stephen DeWitt, University of Michigan - Applied Physics
  • Colin Gurganus, Michigan Technological University - Atmospheric Science
  • Carley Kratz, Michigan Technological University - Forest Science
  • Michelle Price, University of Michigan - Applied Physics
  • Ben Roller, Michigan State University - Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

For up to three years, each fellow will receive $50,500 to offset costs of tuition, living expenses, research materials and travel to research facilities at the Department of Energy.

"The future prosperity of our state and nation is linked to continual advancements and breakthroughs in the fields of mathematics, engineering and the sciences," Granholm said. "Congratulations to these six students from Michigan who will be able to further their education through these prestigious fellowships."