Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Applied Physics Faculty Awards

Professor Ronald G. Larson,

  • Stephen S. Attwood Award, College of Engineering

Professor Theodore Goodson

  • 04/2013 Joint Institute for Lab Astrophysics Fellow (U of Colorado),
  • 03/2013 Brown and Williamson Lecturer
  • 11/2012 AAAS Fellow, 02/2012 Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award (U of Michigan)
  • 02/2012 Lloyd Ferguson Lectureship

Professor Rachel S. Goldman

  • 2014 - Senior Fellow, Sweetland Writing Center, UM College of LSA
  • 2012 - Fellow of the American Vacuum Society, 2012 Fellow of the American Physical Society

Assistant Professor Julie Biteen

Professor Mark Banaszak Holl 

  • 2013 - Rackham Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award

Professor R. Paul Drake 

  • 2013 - Rackham Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award

Charles L. Brooks III 

  • 2012, Hans Neurath Award, Protein Society
  • 2011, Thomson Reuters Top 100 Chemists of the Decade, 2000-2010

Professor Roy Clarke - 2011 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring

Professor Ctirad Uher - Friendship Award presented to non citizens who have made "outstanding contributions to the scientific development in China" presented by the Peoples Republic of China 

Sharon E. Glotzer
 - Named to the 2011 American Academy of Arts and Science 

Aaron E. Leanhardt - 2010 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship and 2010 American Physical Society Outstanding Referee

Duncan Steel - Isaakson Prize from American Physical Society, 2010.

Assistant Professor Tal Carmon - of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Engineering, Air Force Young Investigator Award

Joanna Mirecki Millunchick 
- Ph.D., Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, John F. Ullrich Education Excellence Award, College of Engineering, University of Michigan 

Professor Mark Kushner Will Allis Prize for Study of Ionized Gases, American Physical Society

Professor Mark Kushner - Alumni Academic Achievement Award, UCLA School of Engineering

Professor Mark Kushner - 2008 winner of the Semiconductor Industry Association University Researcher Award.

Professor Max Shtein - in Fall 2008 received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) from the Air Force.

Professor Paul Drake
 - Major Research Grant: Director, Center for Radiative Shock Hydrodynamics, 17 M$, April 2008 through April 2013, received the AOSS Departmental Research Excellence Award, 2009

Professor Sharon Glotzer - Received the Charles M.A. Stine Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Materials Engineering & Sciences Division, 2008. Citation: "For her pioneering simulations of glass-forming liquids and self-assembled nanomaterials, and for her leadership and service to the materials community."

Professor Brad Orr - Citation: For contributions to the fundamental understanding of heteroepitaxial and homoepitaxial thin film growth. Nominated By: Materials Physics (DMP)

Professor Roberto Merlin - 2006 recipient of the Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids

Professor Franco Nori - chosen as AAAS Fellow for theoretical contributions in condensed matter physics, particularly for studies of vortex dynamics in superconductors, quantum information, dynamical instabilities, Josephson-junction arrays and quantum interference

Professor Katsuyo Thornton - NSF CAREER Award, 2008. & TMS Early Career Faculty Fellow Award, 2008.

Professor Jay Guo - 2008 EECS departmental outstanding achievement award

Professor Rachel S. Goldman - was elected member of Sigma Xi, the International Honors Society of Science and Engineering & was elected member of Sigma Xi, the International Honors Society of Science and Engineering.

Professor Ron Larson - David Mason Lectures, Chemical Engineering Department, Stanford University, May 11-13, 2009

Professor Roberto Merlin
 - 2009 Peter A. Franken Collegiate Professor of Physics & 2008 Outstanding Referee, American Physical Society

Professor Anthony Grbic

  • 2009 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). I will receive the award at a ceremony this fall.
  • 2008 NSF Faculty Early Career Development Award.
  • 2008 Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) Young Investigator Award.

Professor Paul L. Carson - July 2008- William D. Coolidge Award, American Association of Physicists in Medicine, for an eminent career in medical physics.

Professor Ron Larson 
- Barnett Lecture, Dept of Chemical Engineering, Yale University, Dec. 3, 2008

Professor Vanessa Sih - July 2009, National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development award

Professor Oliver Kripfgans
 - Cardiovascular Center McKay & the Heart of a Champion Award

Professor R Paul Drake 

  • Named Henry Smith Carhart Collegiate Professor of Space Science
  • AOSS Departmental Award for Research Excellence

Professor Pallab Bhattacharya

  • 2008: Was elected to the National Academy of Engineering
  • 2008: Received the TMS John Bardeen Award