Skip to Content

Undergraduate Education

The College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, founded in 1841, was the first duly constituted college of the University of Michigan. Now the largest of the university's 19 schools and colleges, it serves students from all of them. LSA features 75 departments and programs, more than 85 majors, and more than 100 minors. 

Reflecting its commitment to diversity as critical to higher education, the college enrolls about 18,000 students from all over the world and from a variety of social and ethnic backgrounds. Most undergraduates pursue particular fields of study related to their professional or career interests. Others who arrive with less defined academic and career goals are enabled to forge their own paths, explore themselves and their world, and develop new interests and deepen old ones. Over 1100 faculty engage in teaching and contribute to world-class research and scholarship. Many are also actively involved in concentration advising. Explore the wealth of resources available in LSA Undergraduate Education.

Have a question?