Skip to Content

Student Awards

The following awards are presented to students at the annual Dorr Dinner which takes place in Winter term of each academic year.


Undergraduate Student Awards

Eugene and Elizabeth Singer Award for Academic Excellence in Geology, Recent Recipients: 2013 Peter Chutcharavan; 2014  Kevin Roback, Alex Thompson; 2015 Jesse Fenno

To be given to a Junior in Geology before their final year of coursework. The award will be based on GPA and rigor of coursework. The student must be a US citizen or permanent resident.

Camp Davis Field Geologist Award, Recent Recipients: 2013 Megan Mueller; 2014 Chris Whalen; 2015 Ryan Gabelman

To the student with the highest letter grade in the Advanced Field Geology course at Camp Davis. In the event of a tie, the winner will be decided by a vote of all the course instructors.

Alumni Undergraduate Award

To a junior or senior nominated by the Faculty or GeoClub who displays a high level of involvement and commitment to the intellectual life of the department. 

Undergraduate Academic Excellence Award, Recent Recipients: 2013 Nathan Kerns; 2014 Andrea Davila, Madeline Dibble, Chris Whalen; 2015 Allison Sharrar

To be given to a fourth year student who is eligible to graduate in May, with a minimum GPA of 3.5. The award will be based on GPA, rigor of coursework, and participation in independent research within the department.


Graduate Student Awards

Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award, Recent Recipients: 2013 Ethan Hyland, Sae Yun Kwon; 2014 Carli Arendt; 2015 Petr Yakovlev

To be given to a Graduate Student Instructor who has taught two or more classes before January 31 of the year of the award. The recipient is nominated for the Rackham Graduate School Outstanding GSI Award.

John Dorr Graduate Academic Achievement Award, Recent Recipients: Laura Sherman; 2014 Jennifer Cotton; 2015 Karthik Anantharaman, Ethan Hyland 

Department-wide award to a graduate student who defended or will defend his/her PhD dissertation between January 31 of the year before and January 31 of the year of the award ceremony.

Sigma Gamma Epsilon: National Geology Honors Society