Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}


The Department awards the Charles L. Stevenson Prize, funded by the Marshall M. Weinberg Endowment for the Frankena and Stevenson Prizes, for excellence in a dossier. The prize is awarded near the close of the Winter Term. To be eligible for consideration, a student must have already achieved candidacy. The Department automatically considers all eligible students for the Stevenson Prize.

When Charles Stevenson published Ethics and Language in 1944, it was the most influential book in meta-ethics since G. E. Moore's Principia Ethica, first published more than forty years earlier. It went through many printings and has been translated into Italian, Spanish, and Japanese. Steve, as he was known in the Department, taught at Michigan for thirty-one years. He was an accomplished pianist and cellist, and his publications in aesthetics reflected his deep interest in music. As recounted by Arthur Burks, Stevenson's philosophical pedagogy included a tale of neurosurgeons implanting electrodes in a brain -- on an operating table, not in a vat -- to dictate subjective experiences. A recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Fellowship from the Center for Advanced Study of Behavioral Science, he served as President of the Western Division of the American Philosophical Association.

Stevenson Prize Recipients

2022-23  Adam Waggoner

2021-22  Angela Sun

2020-21  Mercy Corredor

2019-20  Guus Duindam

2018-19   Kevin Blackwell

2017-18   Van Tu

2016-17   Zoë Johnson King

2015-16   Daniel Drucker

2014-15   Jeremy Lent

2013-14   Ira Lindsay

2012-13   Charles “Chip” Sebens

2011-12   Billy Dunaway

2010-11   Alex Silk

2009-10   Nate Charlow

2008-09   Eduardo Garcia-Ramirez

2007-08   Amanda Roth

2006-07   Dustin Locke

2005-06   Vanessa Carbonell

2004-05   Jim Staihar

2004-05   Kevin Coffey

2003-04   Remy Debes 

2002-03   Steve Daskal

2001-02   Patrick Lewtas

2000-01   Bruce Lacey

1999-00   Charles Goodman

1998-99   Peter Vranas 

1997-98   Angela Napili

1996-97   Karen E. Bennett 

1995-96   James Woodbridge 

1994-95   Heather Bell   

1993-94   Laura Bugge  

1992-93   Jeffrey Kasser