Congratulations to the 2011 Anthro-History student research awardees:

External Grant Competitions

Ismail Fajrie Alatas:  Social Science Research Council Fellowship

Tara Dosuma Diener: Fulbright Fellowship

Brady G’Sell: multi-year National Science Foundation Fellowship

Edgar Curtis Taylor: Social Science Research Council Fellowship

Joseph Viscomi: Fulbright Fellowship 

2011 Rackham International Research Awards

Ismail Fajrie Alatas (Indonesia) Traditional Bodies: Sufism, Knowledge Practices and the Modern Public

Shana Melnysyn (Portugal) Slavery and Sovereignty: Protestants and Rebellion in Portuguese Angola

Bruno Renero (Mexico) Social Movements and Historical Memory in Oaxaca, Mexico

Ian Stewart (Sierra Leone and Liberia) Slavery and the Mano River Wars 1775-2003

Joseph Viscomi (Italy and Egypt) Migratory Memories: A Historical Ethnography of Egyptian Migration in Italy

International Institute Awards

Adriana Chira: International Institute Individual Fellowship

Jeremy Johnson:  American Councils Language study fellowship

Kimberly Powers: American Councils Language study fellowship