Skip to Content

Research Mentors

For links to faculty accepting students this fall, please select the link above.

All Research Mentors in Alphabetical Order

Akaaboune Lab

Synaptic development and maintenance; effect of high fat diet on the stability of neuromuscular synapses neuromuscular diseases  Mohammed Akaaboune, Professor; makaabou@umich.edu

Aton Lab

Effects of sensory experience and sleep on neural circuits, mechanisms underlying nervous system plasticity and memory formation Sara Aton, Assistant Professor; saton@umich.edu

Bardwell Lab

Role of molecular chaperones and disulfide catalysts in protein folding; Experimental evolution of protein folding James Bardwell, Professor; jbardwel@umich.edu

Buttitta Lab

Understanding the barriers to proliferation in quiescent cells and how they are bypassed in diseases such as cancer Laura Buttitta, Assistant Professor; buttitta@umich.edu

Cadigan Lab

Mechanism by which Wnt signaling regulates target gene expression, using Drosophila as a model system
Kenneth Cadigan, Professor; cadigan@umich.edu

Chang Lab

Protein sorting and quality control in the yeast secretory pathway  
Amy Chang, Associate Professor; amychang@umich.edu

Chapman Lab

Biogenesis of bacterial amyloid fibers called curli
Matthew Chapman, Associate Professor; chapmanm@umich.edu

Clark Lab

Receptor-mediated signaling that controls the maintenance and differentiation of stem cells  Steven Clark, Professor; clarks@umich.edu

Clowney Lab

Developmental and regulatory mechanisms that generate neural circuits and govern their function, using the olfactory system of Drosophila as a model system
E. Josie Clowney, Assistant Professor; jclowney@umich.edu

Collins Lab

Signaling and transport within axons, in particular how this allows neurons to make regenerative and degenerative responses to axonal injury
Catherine Collins, Associate Professor; collinca@umich.edu

Cone Lab

Understanding how the central nervous system regulates energy stores
Roger Cone, Professor; rcone@umich.edu [Director, LSI]

Csankovszki Lab

Gene regulation and chromosome segregation mediated by condensin complexes in C. elegans
Gyorgyi Csankovszki, Associate Professor; gyorgyi@umich.edu

Denver Lab

Molecular mechanisms of hormone action in animal development
Robert Denver, Professor; rdenver@umich.edu

B Duan Lab

Somatosensory circuits to process different modalities, such as pain and itch
Bo Duan, Assistant Professor; bduan@umich.edu

C. Duan Lab

Understanding how peptide growth factors act to control growth, development, and aging
Cunming Duan, Professor; cduan@umich.edu

Dus Lab

How the brain responds to changes in internal energy and nutrients to control hunger and satiety states. The effect of the environment of neural activity and behavior, converging the fields of epigenetics, gene expression, and neurobiology.
Monica Dus, Assistant Professor; mdus@umich.edu

Hume Lab

Structure and Function of Neurotransmitter Receptors Formation and Maintenance of synapses  Richard Hume, Professor; rhume@umich.edu

Hurn Lab

Understanding the cellular and molecular basis of gender differences in response to experimental brain injury   Patricia D. Hurn, Professor; phurn@umich.edu [Dean, School of Nursing]

Jakob Lab

Role of oxidative stress in host defense and aging
Ursula Jakob, Professor; ujakob@umich.edu

Klionsky Lab

Protein targeting and organelle biogenesis, with an emphasis on autophagy in the yeast model system   Daniel Klionsky, Professor; klionsky@umich.edu

Kumar Lab

Genomics, proteomics, and systems biology to study cell signaling and cancer-related pathways   Anuj Kumar, Associate Professor; anujk@umich.edu

Kuwada Lab

Genetic and molecular analysis of genes that regulate the function and formation of neural circuits   John Kuwada, Professor; kuwada@umich.edu

Li Lab

Arabidopsis as a model organism to study steroid signaling mechanism and endoplasmic reticulum-mediated protein quality control
Jianming Li, Professor; jian@umich.edu

M Li Lab

Regulation and quality control of lysosomes
Ming Li, Assistant Professor; mlium@umich.edu

MacAlister Lab

Flower development and pollen tube formation
Cora MacAlister, Assistant Professor; macalist@umich.edu

Miller Lab

Molecular mechanisms that regulate cytokinesis in epithelial cells and how this process may become mis-regulated in cancer.
Ann Miller, Assistant Professor; annlm@umich.edu

Nandakumar Lab

Biochemistry, cell biology and X-ray crystallography to understand the roles of telomerase and telomeres in cancer and ageing
Jayakrishnan Nandakumar, Assistant Professor; jknanda@umich.edu

Nielsen Lab

Understanding the cellular machinery involved in proper deposition of plant cell wall components
Erik Nielsen, Associate Professor; nielsene@umich.edu

Olsen Lab

Biogenesis of peroxisomes, use proteomics to discover new functions, and explore the biology of this amazing organelle  Laura Olsen, Professor; ljo@umich.edu

Pichersky Lab

Plant molecular biology and evolution  Eran Pichersky, Professor; lelx@umich.edu

Raymond Lab

Retinal development and regeneration in  zebrafish as a model system and developmental genetics as a tool.   Pamela Raymond, Professor; praymond@umich.edu

Schiefelbein Lab

Understanding the molecular mechanisms that regulate cell differentiation and pattern formation
John Schiefelbein, Professor; schiefel@umich.edu

Shafer Lab

Neurobiology of circadian and circa-annual timekeeping and the neurogenetic basis of animal behavior
Orie Shafer, Associate Professor; oshafer@umich.edu

Simmons Lab

How DNA repair proteins identify sites of damage in living cells and how DNA repair pathways are coordinated with the the cell cycle
Lyle Simmons, Associate Professor; lasimm@umich.edu

Stockbridge Lab

F- anion export  Randy Stockbridge, Assistant Professor;  stockbr@umich.edu

Vecchiarelli Lab

Interdisciplinary approaches to understand subcellular organization, with an emphasis on cell-free reconstitution and imaging Anthony Vecchiarelli, Assistant Professor; ave@umich.edu

Wang Lab

Protein trafficking, organelle biogenesis and Golgi defects in diseases 
Yanzhuang Wang, Professor; yzwang@umich.edu

Wierzbicki Lab

Mechanisms of long non-coding RNA functions in regulation of genome activity
Andrzej Wierzbicki, Associate Professor; wierzbic@umich.edu

Wittkopp Lab

Mechanisms of gene regulation, development and evolution
Patricia Wittkopp,  Professor; wittkopp@umich.edu

Wong Lab

Electrophysiological, behavioral and anatomical techniques to study retinal cells and circuits that regulate the non-image-forming visual system.
Kwoon Wong, Assistant Professor; kwoon@umich.edu

Xu Lab

Understanding the physiological and pathological functions of Transient Receptor Potential (TRP) ion channels and Ca2+ signaling  
Haoxing Xu, Professor; haoxingx@umich.edu