Skip to Content

Research Mentors

Akaaboune Lab
Mohammed Akaaboune, Professor
makaabou@umich.edu
Synaptic development and maintenance; effect of high fat diet on the stability of neuromuscular synapses neuromuscular diseases
Aton Lab
Sara Aton, Assistant Professor
saton@umich.edu
Effects of sensory experience and sleep on neural circuits, mechanisms underlying nervous system plasticity and memory formation
Bardwell Lab
James Bardwell, Professor
jbardwel@umich.edu
Role of molecular chaperones and disulfide catalysts in protein folding; Experimental evolution of protein folding
Buttitta Lab
Laura Buttitta, Assistant Professor
buttitta@umich.edu
Understanding the barriers to proliferation in quiescent cells and how they are bypassed in diseases such as cancer
Cadigan Lab
Kenneth Cadigan, Professor
cadigan@umich.edu
Mechanism by which Wnt signaling regulates target gene expression, using Drosophila as a model system
Chang Lab
Amy Chang, Associate Professor
amychang@umich.edu
Protein sorting and quality control in the yeast secretory pathway
Chapman Lab
Matthew Chapman, Associate Professor
chapmanm@umich.edu
Biogenesis of bacterial amyloid fibers called curli
Clark Lab
Steven Clark, Professor
clarks@umich.edu
Receptor-mediated signaling that controls the maintenance and differentiation of stem cells
Collins Lab
Catherine Collins, Associate Professor
collinca@umich.edu
Signaling and transport within axons, in particular how this allows neurons to make regenerative and degenerative responses to axonal injury
Csankovszki Lab
Gyorgyi Csankovszki, Associate Professor
gyorgyi@umich.edu
Gene regulation and chromosome segregation mediated by condensin complexes in C. elegans
Denver Lab
Robert Denver, Professor
rdenver@umich.edu
Molecular mechanisms of hormone action in animal development
B Duan Lab
Bo Duan, Assistant Professor
bduan@umich.edu
Somatosensory circuits to process different modalities, such as pain and itch
C. Duan Lab
Cunming Duan, Professor
cduan@umich.edu
Understanding how peptide growth factors act to control growth, development, and aging
Dus Lab
Monica Dus, Assistant Professor
mdus@umich.edu
How the brain responds to changes in internal energy and nutrients to control hunger and satiety states. The effect of the environment of neural activity and behavior, converging the fields of epigenetics, gene expression, and neurobiology.
Hume Lab
Richard Hume, Professor
rhume@umich.edu
Structure and Function of Neurotransmitter Receptors Formation and Maintenance of synapses
Jakob Lab
Ursula Jakob, Professor
ujakob@umich.edu
Role of oxidative stress in host defense and aging
Klionsky Lab
Daniel Klionsky, Professor
klionsky@umich.edu
Protein targeting and organelle biogenesis, with an emphasis on autophagy in the yeast model system
Kumar Lab
Anuj Kumar, Associate Professor
anujk@umich.edu
Genomics, proteomics, and systems biology to study cell signaling and cancer-related pathways
Kuwada Lab
John Kuwada, Professor
kuwada@umich.edu
Genetic and molecular analysis of genes that regulate the function and formation of neural circuits
Li Lab
Jianming Li, Professor
jian@umich.edu
Arabidopsis as a model organism to study steroid signaling mechanism and endoplasmic reticulum-mediated protein quality control
M Li Lab
Ming Li, Assistant Professor
mlium@umich.edu
Regulation and quality control of lysosomes
MacAlister Lab
Cora MacAlister, Assistant Professor
macalist@umich.edu
Flower development and pollen tube formation
Miller Lab
Ann Miller, Assistant Professor
annlm@umich.edu
Molecular mechanisms that regulate cytokinesis in epithelial cells and how this process may become mis-regulated in cancer.
Nandakumar Lab
Jayakrishnan Nandakumar, Assistant Professor
jknanda@umich.edu
Biochemistry, cell biology and X-ray crystallography to understand the roles of telomerase and telomeres in cancer and ageing
Nielsen Lab
Erik Nielsen, Associate Professor
nielsene@umich.edu
Understanding the cellular machinery involved in proper deposition of plant cell wall components
Olsen Lab
Laura Olsen, Professor
ljo@umich.edu
Biogenesis of peroxisomes, use proteomics to discover new functions, and explore the biology of this amazing organelle
Pichersky Lab
Eran Pichersky, Professor
lelx@umich.edu
Plant molecular biology and evolution
Raymond Lab
Pamela Raymond, Professor
praymond@umich.edu
Retinal development and regeneration in  zebrafish as a model system and developmental genetics as a tool.
Schiefelbein Lab 
John Schiefelbein, Professor
schiefel@umich.edu
Understanding the molecular mechanisms that regulate cell differentiation and pattern formation
Shafer Lab
Orie Shafer, Associate Professor
oshafer@umich.edu
Neurobiology of circadian and circa-annual timekeeping and the neurogenetic basis of animal behavior
Simmons Lab
Lyle Simmons, Associate Professor
lasimm@umich.edu
How DNA repair proteins identify sites of damage in living cells and how DNA repair pathways are coordinated with the the cell cycle
Stockbridge Lab
Randy Stockbridge, Assistant Professor
stockbr@umich.edu
F- anion export
Vecchiarelli Lab
Anthony Vecchiarelli
, Assistant Professor
ave@umich.edu
interdisciplinary approaches to understand subcellular organization, with an emphasis on cell-free reconstitution and imaging
Wang Lab
Yanzhuang Wang, Professor
yzwang@umich.edu
Protein trafficking, organelle biogenesis and Golgi defects in diseases
Wierzbicki Lab
Andrzej Wierzbicki, Associate Professor
wierzbic@umich.edu
Mechanisms of long non-coding RNA functions in regulation of genome activity
Wittkopp Lab
Patricia Wittkopp,  Professor
wittkopp@umich.edu
Mechanisms of gene regulation, development and evolution
Wong Lab
Kwoon Wong, Assistant Professor
kwoon@umich.edu
Electrophysiological, behavioral and anatomical techniques to study retinal cells and circuits that regulate the non-image-forming visual system.
Xu Lab
Haoxing Xu, Professor
haoxingx@umich.edu
Understanding the physiological and pathological functions of Transient Receptor Potential (TRP) ion channels and Ca2+ signaling