Knute Nadelhoffer, UMBS Director and recently named AAAS Fellow.

It is with great pride that we announce UMBS Director Knute Nadelhoffer has been named an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow. Each year, this prestigious honor is bestowed upon members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

UMBS Associate Research Scientist Luke Nave likened the honor to induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for scientists. Colleague and collaborator Christy Goodale calls Nadelhoffer “a warm and supportive role model and fantastic critical thinker.”

Goodale adds, “Among other great contributions, he pioneered insightful studies using stable isotopes to understand decomposition dynamics and how and where nitrogen is stored in forests; what happens when forests get too much nitrogen in air pollution; and how forest succession alters carbon storage and nitrogen cycling. He has been a great leader in ecosystem ecology.”

UMBS researchers Ben Bond-Lamberty (left) and Bill Currie.

Notably, two other UMBS researchers were also named AAAS Fellows: Ben Bond-Lamberty, research scientist at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory/University of Maryland and co-PI on the UMBS-based FASET/FoRTE projects, and Bill Currie, soil ecologist/biogeochemist and longtime U-M SEAS professor. Currie and Nadelhoffer stand among 22 U-M scientists and engineers named AAAS Fellows this year.

Nadelhoffer considers the distinction “a great honor.”