Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Our Team

An interdisciplinary group of faculty and post-docs, along with a software developer comprise the M-Write Team.

Anne Ruggles Gere | Co-Principal Investigator

Anne Ruggles Gere, Co-PI for M-Write, is Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and Gertrude Buck Collegiate Professor, and she currently serves as director of the Sweetland Center for Writing. President of the Modern Language Association and author of a dozen books and over 100 articles, she recently completed a study of student writing development as writers as well as on the ways writing contributes to learning in multiple disciplines.

Ginger Shultz | Co-Principal Investigator / Participating Faculty

Ginger Shultz, Co-PI for M-Write, is an Assistant Professor of Chemistry. Her research is aimed at understanding the teaching and learning of college level chemistry. A current area of interest is understanding the ways in which writing contributes to learning in science.

Solaire Finkenstaedt-Quinn | Post-doc

Solaire Finkenstaedt-Quinn is a postdoctoral researcher in the field of chemical education, with a joint appointment in the Chemistry Department and Sweetland Center for Writing at the University of Michigan. Her research involves development, implementation, and assessment of writing assignments in large, intro level courses. As a graduate student, her research was in the field of bioanalytical chemistry at the University of Minnesota.

Alena Moon | Post-doc

Alena Moon is jointly appointed in Chemistry and the Sweetland Center for Writing. She earned her B.S. in Chemistry at John Brown University before completing her doctoral work in Chemistry Education in the Towns group at Purdue University. Her current research aims to understand how undergraduate chemistry students' writing relates to their conceptual understanding. To further explore this relationship, she is also investigating STEM faculty conceptions of the role of writing in their classes.

Jennifer Schmidt-McCormackPost-doc

Jennifer Schmidt-McCormack is a postdoctoral research fellow who is jointly appointed in Chemistry and the Sweetland Center for Writing. She earned her B.A. in Chemistry with a Biochemistry subfield at the University of Minnesota Morris and her doctoral studies were completed in the Cole Research group in chemistry education at the University of Iowa. Her current research interests are focused on implementing writing assignments in Organic Chemistry and working with the Writing Fellows to optimize students’ writing experiences in the MWrite program.​

Dave Harlan | Developer

Dave Harlan works as an application developer with the Digital Innovation Greenhouse (DIG) in collaboration with Sweetland Center for Writing on MWrite, a digital toolkit supporting writing-to-learn pedagogies at scale in order to enhance student learning and provide individualized feedback for students in large-format gateway courses.