The Michigan Student Symposium for Interdisciplinary Statistical Sciences (MSSISS) was held recently on Thursday and Friday, Frebruary 25 and 26, through a virtual format. The Department of Statistics is happy to congratulate the many PhD students from our department who received an award this year: Anthony DiGiovanni, Enes Dilber, Dan Kessler, Yuanzhi Li, Peter MacDonald, Charlotte Mann, Deb Mukherjee, Yujia Pan, Zoe Rehnberg, Ziping Xu, and Drew Yarger.

MSSISS is an annual event organized by graduate students in Biostatistics, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, Industrial & Operations Engineering, Statistics, and Survey Methodology. This year was once again another successful symposium in spite of the virtual challenges. Moreover, our department would like to extend a special thanks to all who participated and made thie event possible, including Ziping Xu, a member of the MSSISS student committee, and Professor Ed Ionides, a member of the MSSISS faculty advisory committee.

Congratulations to all and a job well done!