The American Sociological Association has announced that they have awarded the 2015 Distinguished Book Award to Michigan Sociology professor Elizabeth A. Armstrong, and her co-author Laura Hamilton, for their book Paying for the Party: How College Maintains Inequality.   This is one of the ASA's most prestigious award recognizing the best book published in the field of sociology in the past year.

Congratulations Elizabeth!


The Department of Sociology now has three winners of this distinguished award on our active faculty.  In addition to Armstrong's win this year, Greta Krippner received this award in 2013 for her book Capitalizing on Crisis: the Political Origins of the Rise of Finance and Jeff Paige was recognized in 1976 (with the then titled Pitrim Sorokin Award) for his book Agrarian Revolution: Social Movements and Export Agriculture in the Underdeveloped World.