Skip to Content


Subplans are not required, but if you do know which area(s) you are interested in (please see list below), please mention this in your academic statement.

The Department offers training in most major subfields of sociology, organized around eight broad areas of concentration — Culture and Knowledge; Economic Sociology and Organizations; Gender and Sexuality; Health and Healthcare; Power, History and Social Change; Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration; Social Demography; and Social Psychology. Students may also work with faculty to develop individualized areas of specialization.