On April 18 at Rackham Auditorium, the winners of the 2018-2019 Hopwood Awards will be conferred to students whose creative writing is deemed exceptional by a group of judges around the world. Since 1931, the U-M Hopwood Program at the Department of English Language and Literature have awarded a cumulative total of well over $3,000,000 to more than 3,200 gifted writers including Arthur Miller, John Ciardi, Mary Gaitskill, Robert Hayden, Lawrence Kasdan, Jane Kenyon, Frank O’Hara, Marge Piercy, Edmund White, and Nancy Willard. Following the announcement of the awards on April 18th, there will be a lecture from Pulitzer Prize-winning author Hilton Als (pictured here) and a light reception. The event is free to attend and open to all!

Below are 2018-2019 Hopwood Award honorees who have declared an RC Creative Writing and Literature major (as indicated with an asterisk) or are current RC students pursuing other majors: 

The Hopwood for Undergraduate Poetry
Mariam Reda* “In July,” $5000
Nadia Mota* “la madre tierra,” $5000
Miriam Saperstein, “How I Became a Golem,” $3500
Elena Ramirez-Gorski* “Miss America,” $1500

The Hopwood for Undergraduate Short Fiction
Shashank Rao* “The Russian Tenant,” $8000
Elena Ramirez-Gorski* “The Big Pond,” $3500

The Hopwood for Undergraduate Nonfiction
Elena Ramirez-Gorski* “Daughterhood: In our Blood and Blame,” $1250

The Hopwood for Screenplay
Samuel Rosenberg, “Glide,” $4000

The Arthur Miller Award
Ceren Ege* “To See in Color Again,” $2700

The Cora Duncan Award in Fiction
Elena Ramirez-Gorski* “The Big Pond,” $800

The Keith Taylor Prize for Excellence in Poetry
Nadia Mota* “la madre tierra,” $800

The Paul and Sonia Handleman Poetry Award
Mariam Reda* “In July,” $3200

The Robert F. Haugh Prize
Shashank Rao* “The Russian Tenant,” $3000

The Leonard and Eileen Newman Writing Prize in Fiction
Jena Vallina,  “Anchorage Girls,” $2250

The Naomi Saferstein Literary Award
Samuel Rosenberg, “Glide,” $1400

The Dennis McIntyre Prize for Distinction in Undergraduate Playwriting
Kyle Prue, “Roulette,” $1650
Paulina (Hodges) Adams* “WEAVING,” $1650

Hopwood Award Theodore Roethke Prize
Davey McLeod* “Dust on the Sun-Blood,” $5000 

Congratulations to all honorees, and to those mentioned here from the Residential College. Another round of applause to those RC students honored with multiple awards including Elena Ramirez-Gorski, recipient of four awards, as well as Mariam Reda, Nadia Mota, Shashank Rao, and Samuel Rosenberg, each of whom are receiving two awards. We can't wait to see what you all come up with next!