On June 21, the Board of Regents approved appointments for five faculty members as Distinguished University Professors, including the RC's own faculty and alumna, '84, Laura Kasischke. Her new title is Theodore Roethke Distinguished University Professor of English Language and Literature, and will be effective September 1. The other honorees are Deborah E. Goldberg, Margaret B. Davis Distinguished University Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Steven L. Kunkel, Peter A. Ward Distinguished University Professor of Pathology; Jeffrey C. Lagarias, Harold Mead Stark Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics; and Victor C. Li, James R. Rice Distinguished University Professor of Engineering. 

As reported in The University Record by Safiya Merchant, "Distinguished University Professorships, established in 1947, recognize senior faculty with exceptional scholarly or creative achievements, national and international reputations for academic excellence and superior records of teaching, mentoring and service. Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointive professor in consultation with his or her dean." You can read the full story in The Record at this link

Congratulations, Laura, for this honor, and thank you for your service to the art of poetry and fiction, and to our Creative Writing and Literature students.