Congratulations to the SAA team (Saroya Cicero, Sheri Circele, Chloe Davenport, Kaydee Fry, Tina Griffith, Sarah Wagner, Brian Wallace, and Megan Wolgast) for being selected as recipients of the Ninth Annual Distinguished Diversity Leaders Team Award. The award was established by the Vice Provost for Equity, Inclusion and Academic Affairs and the Associate Vice President for Human Resources to shine a light on staff members who work toward achieving a welcoming, supportive and inclusive campus environment.  The award includes $2,500 towards the team's professional development activities.

Recipients of the ninth annual Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award for University of Michigan staff were celebrated Tuesday at a breakfast ceremony at the Michigan Union.

The award recognizes individual staff members and teams for their extraordinary commitment and dedication to diversity at U-M.

Pamela Heatlie, senior associate director of the Office for Institutional Equity, served as master of ceremonies and recognized the outstanding support of Robert Sellers, vice provost for equity, inclusion and chief diversity officer, and Laurita Thomas, associate vice president for human resources.

Peggy Sheagren, program director in leadership and diversity development, University Human Resources, provided closing remarks for the ceremony.

Established in 2008 as a collaboration between Thomas and former senior vice provost Lester Monts, the award is co-sponsored by the Office of the Provost and University Human Resources, and administered by the Office of Institutional Equity.

View all award winners at The Record.